On a happier note


I realize I have written some really dark posts lately, sounding like someone going over the edge. There is a line of rage in me, and I have let it rip out.

But it is amazing what the subconcience holds, and apparently lets out while you are in deep sleep. I had a really enlightening dream last night. And so I write this.

If you are a teen, or college student, I say enjoy your life. Do what you want to do, and be as happy as you can. If you are still in high school, you have the right to do and see what all youthful people should do. If you want to go to college, I hope you do. I hope you find a way to enjoy everything, meeting and getting to know others of your age group. Go to dances, have parties, go to movies, go shopping. Try to stay up with what is going on in the world, but don’t let it stop you from being young. When you get to college, study hard, but have a good time. College is a wonderful experience for those who get to go. I did not, but I worked at a university for many years, managed to get a few college credits at the same time, and most of the work I did allowed me to interact with students. I even joined a couple of organizations that accepted me, even though I was twice the age of the students that were in them. I saw how much fun they were all having.

I spent my 20s, helping out with the civil rights movements, and during the worst of Vietnam – and I drank a lot to help me get through it – but I met a lot of wonderful people from around the world due to my management of a merchant seamen’s bar. It was a good time in my life, and helped make me who I am today.

Please control some of the worst things that could catch you up. Don’t use drugs, though I personally have no problem with marijuana if you want to experiment with it, but don’t get involved in dealing it. Stay away from crack cocaine and heroin. They really don’t help, and can ruin your lives. Experiment with sex. I don’t think sex is a sin, and it is a gift from the deities. But respect your own body. Take all precautions, don’t be promiscuous, try not to get pregnant, or get a girl pregnant. Don’t get an STD. It could cause deep health problems later in your life.

The main point is enjoy yourself. You have a right to your life. You have a right to get involved in things that were much easier back when life was simpler. Not necessarily better, as I can attest to, but before life tries to get you caught up in silly things. There are a lot of really silly, non-compassionate, mean adults out there trying to make life difficult for you, and for your children. Be open-minded about everything, and learn what is worth learning, ignore that which is not.

I hope some of you will get involved in politics. I have loved them all my life, among other things, but they have played the most in my choices, good and bad, and have continued to love them. No, I am not happy with what is going on, but believe me, most of the bad is being caused by ignorant, tight-assed, stubborn folks who work against themselves. Don’t allow them to keep you from having and doing what is rightfully yours.

I love you all, and I want you to have the lives you deserve to have. So go out and do it, but try to get smarter as you go along. And then come back and fix the world some of us are leaving you with. Don’t get angry and give up. Remember that those of us who lived through the world of the 60s did not believe we would live to be 30. But most of us did.

Get wealthy if you can and want to, but don’t do it on the backs of those less fortunate than you are. Just try to learn how to give yourselves and your children a better world, but don’t let it rob you of the things you are entitled to, including having fun what you go along your paths.

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Education, Family, Foreign Affairs, Freedom, Friends, Mental health, Music, Other media, personal thoughts, Politics, Sports and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment