A new year has begun


Frustration over the past political fuck-up has passed, and yesterday, January 3, 2017, I got back to MSNBC to find out what was happening on the first day of the first session of 2017.  I came away with a couple of things.

There is going to be a huge clash between the trumpety ugly duckling and scheming Paul Ryan early on.  Ryan was not for the trumpeter at the beginning, and then as he continued to listen to him, I think Ryan decided he was going to get everything he wants with a trumpety president.  I think Ryan has taken in more than he can chew.  I think he thought he was going to have a lot more power in this upcoming presidency, and I think just over the difference between his plans and trumpety’s plans for social security, Medicare, and Medicaid, they are going to come up against one another.  Probably why Ryan is going to try to get his way before Trump takes office, but that will certainly fail.  Obama is still the president for 16 more days.

Today also seems the day that these congress critters are going to try to repeal the Affordable Care Act, and I assure you that if they try to write Obamacare into the repellent pages, it won’t actually be legal.  As I sit here and listen to Mike Pence say Obamacare, and never by its correct name, he has no clue what he is talking about.

Mitch McConnell just said he hoped the Democratic side of Congress would be willing to treat trumpety’s choices for cabinet members like they did Obama’s.  Yes, I hope the Congress Democrats treat everyone that is part of trumpety’s administration just exactly has the repubs did to Obama.  I know I will given them exactly as much respect as they did to President Obama.

I had to laugh with David Cay Johnston last evening when he was explaining why the trumpeter was so rude to the writer, a friend of one of the Kochs, when throwing him off his golf course.  His words were “Trump holds grudges forever; he didn’t like what this writer said about him in a book several years ago, and he never forgives.  He will hound a man (I guess he doesn’t recognize women’s writings) until he absolutely ruins him.  Maybe that is why he doesn’t like we poor citizens because he cannot ruin us – or perhaps we should read that as why he doesn’t care, I mean we all know the meaning of “why, what have you done for me lately”.”.

One last thought of yesterday’s news:  Meghan Kelly has moved to NBC to do several shows and become a real reporter.  I know we cannot trust the media that much, but getting away from Fox or any of its faux news fellows can’t be bad.

Oh yeah, I hope you all got to listen to Chuck Schumer and Bernie Sanders on Rachel’s show yesterday.  I see nothing but hope as long as we liberals stay the path we have chosen.

I feel fairly sure I have left something out that I wanted to say, but I am also pretty certain this will not be my last comment.  I expect to be blogging quite often during the next year.  I will not be silenced, and I’m pretty sure the trumpeter can’t ruin me.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Freedom, Other media, personal thoughts, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment