There is no God


WOW, did I ever have an epiphany this afternoon. I was sleeping so deeply, and as has happened before, I was dreaming about NASCAR. I do that a lot. I woke up about 2:45, and got up to go to the bathroom, but I was not quite ready to get up. So I laid down and cuddled under my comforter, and went into a sort of twilight sleep. And was suddenly awoken again with this thought.

There is no god.

What I mean by that is that there is no god who allowed the Hebrews to be taken into slavery by Egypt. There is no god that allows people to kill one another, in whatever circumstances. There is no god that allowed the Germans to murder six million Jews. There is no god that allows children to be exploited by others, or for women to be exploited and forced into prostitution, or for fires and tornadoes and earthquakes and drownings. There is no god who allows evil in any way.

A god was invented by different tribes of people, not all of them with the same god. But for some reason, there are people who have to have a god to explain where we came from. However, this planet and this universe and all the other cosmic bodies there are in the universe came from science. I have always believed in science, and been fascinated by it, but I was raised in a christian family who stuffed my head with fairy tales, and made sure I knew if I was not perfect, I would end up in hell.

So I, like billions of people, struggled with the major questions that billions and billions ask every day: why did that happen? We just need someone to blame it all on, and we look up at the sky and say it was god’s will.

All wars are caused by men. Whether it is Joshua holding his arms up and stopping the sun so the Hebrews could slaughter men (not a scientific possibility), or Hitler got too much power and used it wrongly, it is not any god’s fault. Even if you have ever read the Iliad and the story of Troy, and the gods and goddesses who worked that war, they are stories out of mythology. In fact, everything that has happened with the human race since the beginning of time, has been blamed on a god of some sort.

So as long as people look to what they believe is a god running everything, and that god does not agree with another god, there will never be peace on this planet, perhaps in any other civilization as well. The sooner people accept science as what rules the daily activities of humankind, the sooner there could be peace.

So, David and others I have had this conversation with, I apparently have finally learned why atheism is so widespread. Because too many have someone to blame it all on.

So there is no god. Just our spiritual, or non-spiritual, selves to blame, or to give credit to when we understand that we are the only ones who can fix things.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Children, Crime, Equality, Family, Foreign Affairs, Freedom, Other media, personal thoughts, Politics, Religious, War. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

