God/desses and spiritual beliefs


I just wrote this in response to a posting by David Gerrold on Facebook.  I thought I would bring it over to my blog so it can get wider readership.  To my Facebook friends, you will be getting this twice, once in my response to David, and now because I have FB sharing for my wordpress blogs.

David, you have written some very profound things here. As a Pagan of the Celtic tradition, I can tell you that the God/dess I believe in is a Spirit, bears no body, nor no face, but lives around and in and through me at all times. I communicate with her/him, or him/her, in my own way, and every time I do anything that will affect others, and allow me to live with myself.

But I do believe in lesser gods and goddesses that rule parts of my life. Lyr is the god of the seas – I came from water, I am mostly water, and water will be the place of my eventual return. Lugh is the god of my creativity – my artistic and writing abilities. And Herne (aka Cernnunous) is the lord of the trees, or the one who works with Mother Nature, and are being destroyed even as I write this through ecological disasters.

The Greek and Latin/Roman gods and goddesses are/were very real to me. I believe that they did have some rule over the peoples of this planet prior to about 2500 BC. They were very much in evidence, including those whose names are Egyptian or Scandinavian, or with the various natives of all the lands of this planet. They were never cut off, even in the christian bible left them behind, picking up the exodus of Hebrews from slavery. This mythology did not rid every tribe from slavery, but the priests of the early AD years needed to try and get most peoples behind one belief, and thus picked and chose what writings they wanted to bring everyone to one religion – namely christianity. And they gave their god the face of the well-known, and renown, Rabbi of the earliest days – Yeshua bin Ioseph, who was wise and compassionate, and definitely human.

It did not work, it has not worked, it will never work. Because humans were not made to be automatons to follow one belief. And so long as there are conflicting ideas of religion or spirituality, more people are going to search for their beliefs in whatever they can find to believe in, or to match their beliefs already. And war will always be the answer to them because peace will never reign until a catalyst occurs that allows everyone to live within themselves, and with tolerance for everyone else.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

