Life under reality


What have I been doing since I last wrote here?  I’ve watched the TCM 31 days of Oscar, and saw many films that I never saw.  Lots of old black and whites from the 30s and 40s, as well as newer films involved with the Oscars in many ways.  It has been entertaining, and nonstressful.

I quite the Board of Directors at Gaston Place, and no longer attend the Bingo games.  Last time I called a game, I has requested that everyone be polite and considerate of everyone playing.  But it was a no-go.  Then the president of the council told me I could not change people. My reply was if I could not change people around here, how could I possibly  think I could change Washington.  What I finally decided was that if I could not change them, at least they could not change me.

I have begun packing up some of the unnecessary items for my present needs, like winter blankets and coats and books and DVDs, of which I seem to own about 130 or so.  I am watching syfy a lot, and reading science fiction.  Our move seems to be getting pushed back further and further, and I don’t know from time to time when the construction is going to being.  So I bide my time.

I don’t watch MSNBC much these days because every time I turn it on, I just read about another atrocious thing the trumpeter and his cronies are doing to this country.  I don’t read Facebook much any more because I just read about what such-and-such MAY finally bring him to impeachment.  Al I want to know is that he is finally being brought up on impeachment  charges.  The people who could stop him are too chicken shit to actually do anything.  He is bringing these people to their knees, and while down there, they are kissing his feet like he is some of a god.  Every one seems to be afraid of him.

I am not afraid of him, but I am not able to do much about him, and so I ignore him.  I just believe this country no longer has a president, but a dictator who is getting by.  Are we going to have a russian government?  No, we are too big.  Smaller than the old Soviet Union, but a lot more people, and this country is obviously going to have to split itself in two, and let the conservatives rule their part, and the liberals/progressives to have the other.

Until people more powerful than I am actually do something, I will live my life the way I want it to be – in compassion and patience and peace and love.  And allow my money to do the talking with the SPLC and ACLU, and I’m going to quit donating to the DNC until they stand up on their own legs and quit dithering about what is wrong, but not seeming to do anything to change things.

What else can I say?  I will never accept the trumpeter, but I am disabled enough by my knees now that I cannot physically DO stuff any longer except write what I feel.  Yet I need to save what is left of my sanity.  At least I am old enough not to care if bombs start falling and people start shooting and WW III begins.  I will hide myself away, as I do here where I live, and comfort myself with things I personally love, and do.

I will write at least once a month and talk about music, and books, and life in general as I live it.  And politics again when I feel like there is something going on to fix things. And despite what the McConnell and the Ryan want to do, I feel safe that my Social Security (not SSDI) and my Medicare/Medicaid will remain intact.  If you are worried about your own, then you need to take charge and quit letting other people do it for you.

Now I’m going back to on-line jigsaw puzzles.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Freedom, Friends, Medicine, Mental health, Other media, personal thoughts, Politics, Science fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

