Lost Horizon


How many of you have seen, or even heard of, the Burt Bacharach musical based on The Lost Horizon, released in 1972. It starred Peter Finch and Liv Ullman, Sir John Gielgud, Charles Boyer, George Kennedy, Sally Kellerman, Bobby Van, and Olivia Hussey. It is a beautiful story, based upon the book by James Hilton, and was a remake of an earlier b&w movie, and featured Shawn Phillips singing the title song. It is a story about men who found Shangri-La, and about the chance to leave our planet of chaos, and developing a place where you never hear the sounds of guns again.
I have the DVD, and have just watched it again on my new VHS/DVD player. I realize it is almost a fairy tale, but after my long years in this “civilized” world, I realize that I more than wish I could find it. It is rather spiritual, but not christian. It does repeat the Beatitude which talks about the meek inheriting the earth.
I have the DVD, and have just watched it again on my new VHS/DVD player. I realize it is almost a fairy tale, but after my long years in this “civilized” world, I realize that I more than wish I could find it. It is rather spiritual, but not christian. It does repeat the Beatitude, which talks about the meek inheriting the earth.
How many of you think you could live in a peaceful, non-chaotic, constant wonderful weather for centuries, never growing old, never being sick. I wonder.

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

