Christmas for Seniors


I first wrote this blog two years ago, and then copied it for last year.  It is still the most popular blog I ever wrote.  But instead of just copying it over again, I just had it repeated (with my permission) in HACA’s monthly newsletter.  I am now copying what the reporter Beth did by cutting it down.  Thank you to Beth for writing it into the newsletter.  Here is her edited version:

Most elderly people don’t need any more gifts of talcum p0wder, perfume, gowns or bath robes.

Most of us have homes full of things we have collected over the years.  I’ve gotten rid of more stuff than I need, and don’t want any more.

What we want are things you may not think are decent holiday presents.  But here is what I would appreciate, and I bet your elderly relatives would too.

  • A 24- or 48-roll package of toilet tissue wrapped in a big, fluffy, beautiful bath towel.
  • Gift cards to places like a grocery store, CVS, Walgreen’s, Target or Wal-Mart.
  • Books of stamps, preferably the pre-stuck kind, and if they still sell them, the good-forever stamps.
  • A gift card to a fancy food place, like Central Market or World Market.
  • Food gifts wrapped in a package with something in which you would serve the food or drink.
  • A 12-pack of soap.

There are necessities for every elderly person that they sometimes cannot afford.

Most of us simply don’t want another knickknack or bath product that is just going to collect dust.

If you feel silly giving toilet paper, remember many of us have limited income, and paper products can add up.

Toilet paper, tissue or paper towels are great, especially if you get creative with the wrapping or decorating.  Add a set of kitchen towels or a utensil or two.

Children want fancy, expensive things.  The elderly don’t.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Economics, Family, Friends, Health, personal thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

