Five Days After……….


 

I have just spent five days stunned by how many of you are truly bigots, and disrespecters of many of our American citizens.  Disrespect for women, for so-called minorities, for people who love differently, for all religions except christianity.  You have shown this by voting in a man who ran on all of these issues for the past year or so. The more spiteful he spoke, the more you ran toward him, showing your own bigotry, your own intolerance for anyone who is not exactly like you.

This is the thing that causes me the most distress- that this country is full of non-American citizens, critical of others because they show more patriotism for this free country than most of you.

So now I am getting messages on Facebook that it is time for me, and liberals like me, to stand up with you to make this country united again.  What bullshit.  The time to have stood up for an America that invites everyone in was eight years ago.  And don’t tell me it was not racism that led you to defy the best president this country has ever had, and probably ever will have.  Because now that you have taken the blinders off the rest of us who tolerated this kind of behaviour and shown us who we really are.  Because you are the people who delighted in calling President Obama and First Lady Michelle Obama ugly names, and disrespected the office of the Presidency of this great country, and literally ignored the fact that we the people voted for him, not just once, but twice to the office.  Now you expect us, we the people, to suddenly jump up and stand behind so many of you who did not bother to do so.

So what has this brought on us, 68 days before Trump is even inaugurated?  Children mocking non-white children, and including white girls, in their school rooms.  White middle-aged men targeting minorities by trying to run them over with their vehicles and bats and mouths screaming obscenities, and Paul Ryan threatening our social security and Medicare.

As most of you don’t understand, President Obama is still the President for 68 more days.  And he still has Executive Privilege.  Personally I hope he uses that power to fill that Supreme Court seat, and to pardon Leonard (Peltier Peltiel) whatever his last name is.

So here’s the thing:  you want me to get used to Donald Trump as the president?  So far he has said he thinks the Affordable Care Act is a really good program.  It needs a few tweaks, but we have known that all along.  Problems include Paul Ryan and Mitch McConnell refusing to help get those tweaks done.  Remember, these two said from day one of Obama’s Presidency that they were not going to do their jobs, and they were rewarded with getting their seats back and your cheering them on.  This is a reason I will not accept Trump at this time.

Another thing is that Trump should now stand up and say “I’ve been a Democrat all along; I just wanted to see how low I could go, and have you still stand up for me, and boy, have you shown us all how low you can go.  I wonder if ever you will pick yourself out of the mud.  I doubt it.  If Trump does turn and show some compassion at all, you will simply blame we Democrats and Liberals, and will try to start a war.  Hey, I won’t be running from you.  I’m old enough to not fear for my life, and young enough still to continue the fight for the rights of all people to be equal to one another.  Except maybe you.

So, you want me to heal the wounds of this country, and pledge to stand up with you in solidarity of your ways of thinking.  That is never going to happen.

I will also leave this with you to ponder.  You think that somehow the horrors that Trump and the Republicans in Congress will happen only to us, the Liberals?  No, your elderly and disabled and poor are going to get the same exact treatment.  So I suggest you hope and pray that Donald Trump will turn out to be just as two-faced, now that he has the “power”,  that he does do a turn-around and explain that he simply wanted to know much power you would give him.  He also has 68 days before he has to stand up for what he has said, or to stand up and say “Everybody has the same rights as anyone else”.

I know which one of those two choices will allow me to show him any respect, and backing.  In the meantime, while I am also waiting for January 20, 2017, I will not be sitting back and crying for myself, but working to take Lady Liberty’s tears out of her eyes.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

 

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

