2016 Rio Olympic Games


This year’s Olympic games were a delight.  I saw a lot of good athletes.  I particularly still love the Track and Field more than anything else, but I saw a lot of good beach volley ball from both men and women, enjoyed the different boat venues, especially the scull races, and some white-water canoeing, and saw my first Rugby ever, having a really good time with that, though I need to learn what the rules of the game are.

I have only one criticism, but it is a big one.  Sports coaches and rules committees and the makers of Olympic uniforms have gone way too far with the technical aspects of some of the sports.  This is why I found myself liking the rhythmic gymnastics way more than the regular gymnastics, and the duet and group swims .  That is why I prefer to watch the field sports more than the swimming.

Well, swimming was never my favourite sport anyway.  I do like the diving.  Unfortunately, in the intent to make as little stress and pull, even a friend commented on how the swimmers completely shave their bodies (they don’t have any body hair), they wear these teeny little suits.  Same with the women in beach volley ball.  Same with the gymnasts.

I’m no prude; I like the human body, especially the male body (well, I’m a woman).  I don’t mind if their genitals show up (and yes, so do the women’s because of the Venus mound).  It makes it easier for them to move.  I just remember how sweet Olga Korbut looked in 1972 with her little fuzzy gymnastic uniform which legs came over her butt.  Or the swimmers and divers when I wasn’t just waiting to see if hitting the water was going to yank their bathing suits off.  I know the bikinis keep sand out of various soft spots in beach volley ball, but so would shits with a bit longer leg, which didn’t creep up and begin to look like thongs.

Perhaps this is why I like the winter Olympics a bit more than I do the summer Olympics.  I know they wear streamlined uniforms as well, but at least they let me look at the people and how they move without wondering if they were going to lose their clothing.

Maybe someday the games will be played as the Greeks played them – completely naked, and maybe we will also see a one-minute mile.  Of course originally only Greek men were in the Olympics, and they only had field sports.  But with the way things are headed these days, it would not surprise me to see co-ed naked games.  Except I suppose they will still have to find a way to keep breasts and penises out of the way.

Still, I love the Olympics.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in personal thoughts, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2016 Rio Olympic Games

  1. joycets684 says:

    Somewhere in here it says SHITS instead of shirts, or pants, or something. Wanted to let you know.

Leave a Reply

