Turning the Other Cheek


I just finished watching President Obama in a press conference from Europe about the two recent killings of black men, who were not doing anything wrong, according to video and interviews.  Okay, I am a white woman, 75 yo, who has seen the effects of both civil rights and desegregation.  And I am sick and tired of what is happening today to these human beings who just happen to have a different pigment in their skin.

The thing that stands out to me most is that the African-American (black) population is expected to turn the other cheek.  When these kinds of things happen, the white population starts worrying about what these black folks are going to do – the protest vigils turning into riots.  Sadly, when those things do happen, these people who are inclined to riot tend to burn down their own people, their own businesses.  And that gives the white person a chance to say “see there, that is what they do”.

So it comes down to everyone, including the black population itself, saying they are wrong, and that they need to turn the other cheek, and not do anything to make the racists say “it is what they do”.

Hey, people, it appears to me that there is a section of white people alive today that is trying to completely massacre a whole set of human beings.  It angers me.  It is blatant racism, and though our wonderful president, Barack Obama, who I think will be seen in history as the best president this country has ever has, and maybe ever will have, at least in my lifetime, cannot say such.  He is right to call it an American problem.  But the way I see it, the American problem is that there are far too many people that still believe black people are a lesser race, that they need to be exterminated.  I don’t blame this on the police themselves – there are too many good policemen.  Strangely, though, while I was not surprised to see this occur in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, I was surprised to see it happen in Minnesota, a clearly Democratic state, and makes me wonder, unfairly but because of my length of life and experience of life, to wonder where this policeman is from.  Or who raised him.  I don’t want to think that way.  The policeman who did the murder in Minnesota is also a human being, but he is a flawed human being.  Human beings are not born this way – with hatred and racism in their hearts as new human beings.  They are made that way in their lives.

It does appear to me that white people in America are the worst terrorists in the world.  Perhaps it is because they have seen that people get by doing this, some never get punished for what they have done.  They know there are so many others who are going to approve what they have done.  This is not American.  And don’t try to tell me otherwise.

I am angry with the way America is going.  I love my country, I love our Constitution, I love our freedom.  I do not love those who will try to deny anyone those same rights as I have.  I live too close to racist people who claim to be Democratic Americans, but refuse to look beyond their own noses at the differences in skin pigment, except to somehow believe that makes anyone a non-human being.

I fear that I am going to be dead before I see the changes that need to be made, especially by the white population that adheres to these racist biases.  There are other biases out there, but that is for another blog.

It really does seem that my generation, and the one after it, is going to have to die off before justice is a reality for ALL human beings in this country called the United States of America – or perhaps better known these days as the Un-united States of America.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

 

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Turning the Other Cheek

  1. Bex says:

    Hi Carol Stepp- I came this way via FB- you left an invitation for Pearl on David Gerrold’s page in a comment. I hope you don’t mind that I followed the links you left. I, too, have been horrified by what is happening in American lately. I’ve been reading and crying over Mr. Castile all day. Anyway- I just wanted to say thanks for your blog- I may lurk for a while if you don’t mind.

Leave a Reply

