There’s Something Happening Here


I have just copied to here a comment I made on Facebook. But before printing it, I want to say that I am watching Rachel Maddow’s Town Hall meeting on MSNBC over the tragedy in Flint, MI. Listening to these folks, I see plainly that the people of Flint, and probably all of Michigan, are being ignored by their Governor Rick Snyder, and possibly by a lot of people in their state government, and the wealthy folks who have benefited financially from the shortcuts made because of providing water, a right for every single person in the state. These people need to be tried for murder for the deaths of children that have died from the lead in the water in Flint, MI.

I see similar things happening in other states, state governments who are not interested in their citizens, but only in their own pocketbooks. I live in Texas, and the horrible things going on here are not for my benefit. Children and minorities in particular are being targeted. My own generation of people are obviously wanting to get rid of the following generations because they fear the feelings of people from my own grandchildrens’ generations. They care not what they are going to leave their own grandchildren, and their children and grandchildren and down the lines, as long as they get theirs now.

I wish I could be an avenging angel, or goddess, and come down on them. Yet while I am not a christian, I definitely believe that vengeance is the business of the God/desses, and not mine. I have been given the right for only my own soul and character.

But as I said in the paragraph below, I am a so-called “privileged” white person, but I have lost many of my own freedoms, and am quite frankly fearful of those whiter, and wealthier, and more powerful than I am. I have only one vote, but I used it every time I get the chance, and will do as long as I live.

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

The following is a paragraph I copied over from my Facebook page, which brought about this blog.

I am not so often heard because I have lived through too many political incidents over the 75 years of my life, and I have to deal with both clinical depression and PTSD. So I stay away from things that make me angry, or overly upset. I do not understand why there is so much hostility between people who are supposed to be on the same side. So I go my way, and have already decided who I am going to vote for in the primary. I want no arguments or debates with anyone. What so many people are not understanding right now is that people like me, of a certain age, and who have seen so, much, is that I remember – I was 22 when Kennedy was killed, I watched the civil rights movement and its aftermath, I remember MKL Jr. and Bobby Kennedy so well, and I have heard from too many resources that what is happening today is that specific people are trying to get even with us, the liberals, for the 60s. I see hopes lost, and peace between blacks and whites being eroded on a daily basis; I see the black people where I live (I am white) not understanding, or maybe n
ot caring, about what is going on in the world. I see them afraid of white men with guns. I am a white woman and I’m afraid of white men with guns. So many of my own liberties have been run over during these last several years. I will be doing a great deal of talking and making a little oratory next month, Black History Month. But my age, and my knees, and just plain tiredness over having to fight battles I fought 50 years ago having to be fought again, and not as many younger people fighting those battles. I am sorry that things I see are in history books now, and not being learned. But never will I quit talking about it, and thinking about it, as long as I am still alive. And I think I am going to put this in a blog, so you will see it again since my blog is attached to Facebook.

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Crime, Economics, Equality, Family, Finance, Friends, Gay Rights, global warming, Health, Homelessness, Medicine, Mental health, personal thoughts, Politics, Religious, States Rights, Voting Rights, War, Women's Rights. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

