The Real Cost of War


As I sit here listening to commentators and pundits talking about the presidential candidates, particularly those running on the Republican side, and listening once again to “oppose Barack Obama” no matter what, and the case of Iran, I am struck by what I believe no-one is paying attention to – the real cost of war. I’m not talking about the cost in machinery of war – I’m talking about those who have to get on the ground, with their guns and their RPGs, and their hot and heavy equipment. I’m talking about the ones who actually have to go into the war physically, the youth and the general grunts.

So, I want to start a movement – a ground swell – a meeting in Washington DC with all those who care about the human beings who have to go to war to please the money people who don’t have to put themselves in harm’s way. I would like to speak at that meeting, march, whatever you want to call it. I want a peaceful movement. I want younger people to go en masse who have not had to go to war physically, who might already be thinking about how it could affect him or her mentally and physically. I would also like to have those who have had to fight these wars and have physical or mental injuries be there. I want to put faces on war, that would be required to go and fight the wars, the men who don’t get wealthy on war because they don’t have to go and actually do the warring.

I’d like to do this in late October or early November – before it gets frightfully cold, but is not likely to be too hot to draw crowds.

I am a 74-yo woman, I’ll be 75 in December, and have been through WWII (although quite young, but with memories of uncles); Korea (an ex-husband, as well as family members); Vietnam (high school friends); Grenada; Desert Storm; Gulf Storm; Iraq. Now we’ve got politicians calling for war with Iran, but these are the ones who wouldn’t actually have to go into the fight itself.

I’m tired of our youth being destroyed by war. If you are tired of it as well, please think about this, think about maybe doing a meet with speech, and possibly a few politicians as well, but let’s make it the people, the ordinary everyday people, who are the most affected by war and destruction and death.

I have a page on Facebook. If this raises enough interest, I will work with those who can help me put this together. I have never done anything like this. And frankly, I will need a little financial assistance to be able to show up and talk and meet people who feel the same way I do. I would love to hear from others who want to do the same. I want a groundswell of those who have to pay the physical cost of war.

Anyway, this goes automatically to FB, and my page is public, and it is named Carol Stepp.

Who is with me?

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Foreign Affairs, Friends, Health, Homelessness, Medicine, Mental health, Other media, personal thoughts, Politics, War. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

