Celtic Thunder Five Years Later


Last night, tired of TV and looking at DVDs to watch, I glommed onto my Celtic Thunder DVDs. I thought, it has been several years since I looked at any of these – maybe I would enjoy them again.
I first discovered Celtic Thunder back in 2009 – the first time I ever saw them on PBS. I enjoyed them very much. About a year later, I saw them a second time on PBS, and at that time, I vowed to give them a year of my life, publicizing them in numerous blogs, as a group and as individuals. I wrote my first blogs about them on MySpace, but within a few months, I got my Facebook page and then switched the blogs to WordPress. So I probably have some in a few places.
I stuck it out, I saw them live in November 2010 (when I was a bit disappointed because the seating was not very good in Houston), but I got to chat with Ryan, and got my photo taken with him.
But Sharon Browne got in the way, and the bloom fell off the roses, and then both Paul and Damian left the group. Ryan was having problems with crazy female fans, having to have security for himself, and a while later he left the group, for a while. I quit writing my blog in March 2011, exactly one year after I started writing it. I held to my plan, but I was a bit disillusioned with the things going on within the group.
I have all of their DVDs through the 1st edition of Voyager. I have the CD for Voyager, however, so I think I have all the music, even if not all on DVD. I quit listening to them, and quit watching the DVDs, from Voyager until yesterday.
They wear well. I very much enjoyed the three DVDs I watch last night. I watched It’s Entertainment, which is even more beautiful on the 32″ HD 1080psi TV I bought in January. I was so impressed by the colours on my old TV, but this is so much better. It was a joy to watch Paul, Damian, Keith, Ryan, and our beloved George, and I really loved seeing Sephira again. Of course, I have a couple of Sephira recordings, but it was nice seeing them. Watching Neil in his first appearance as a solo singer (I still think that while he can sing, I most of all love his guitar work). I had fun with Keith’s surfer medley (well, I’m a 60s sort of person, having spent those years in my 20s, and loving long-haired men), and Paul’s Doo Whacka Doo.
I also watched Heritage, which is probably, in terms of time passed, my fave of the bunch. So much to enjoy on Heritage: Paul and Damian in duet; Ryan and George in duet; George singing Skye Boat Song with Brendan on the long pipes; Home From the Sea (well, my fave job in 47 years was the mid-20s when I managed merchant seamen’s bar; as a Celt, the sea is in my blood); seeing Nicole get some solo time (though I certainly missed Sephira); Neil with Noirin; Paul singing Robbie Burns; and the best one of all, Keith and Neil on Whiskey in the Jar, a real treat, magnificent, just wonderful.
I finished up the evening with my edition of Voyage.  I missed musicians who had left the group in its big makeover – Phil, the original music director, of course Paul and Damian, Brendan.  But Nicole was still there, and our beloved George was still with us.  I liked Emmet a lot, excellent voice, and thought he was a good edition to Keith, George, and Ryan.  And the ladies were good, though I still missed Sephira.  There are some standouts on this DVD, like Emmet’s two solos, plus the fun Clancy Bros. Medley and The Galway Girl, Keith’s own All Day Long.  I particularly, though, am glad to have a copy of George with Red Rose Café, again partly because it reminds me of my old days with the merchant seamen’s bar I once managed.

Things have changed with the lads:  George has left us, Keith is engaged, Damian has a cute girlfriend, and is a beautiful man; Paul and his Dom got married, and I still get regular posts from him.  I also had the pleasure of seeing his first show on PBS, and have both the DVD and the CD from his solo effort.  He just last night sent out a notice to us about signing a new contract that we can look forward to.  And Damian is home in Ireland for a few weeks.

I am glad I have these recordings, and will probably pick them up to watch a bit more regularly.  I plan to watch the Christmas DVD tonight.

Thank you for the pleasure you still bring to me, Celtic Thunder.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Celtic Thunder Five Years Later

  1. aliciaheart says:

    It’s amazing how much has changed. I realized I haven’t seen any of the shows in a while, I’ll have to go back and visit memory lane.

    • carolstepp says:

      It was interesting to do so. Last night I watched the Christmas show, and was really struck by how grown Damian was then, and how deep his voice is. Thank you for your comment.

Leave a Reply

