Thoughts on the way people think


I use Facebook.  I like Facebook.  I have many friends on Facebook.  It is my social life these days.  Why?  Because it allows me to reach people who I would never ever know in my day-to-day life.  Yes, I send pictures of kittens.  I like pictures of kittens.  But it has also enabled me to meet children and grandchildren and family I might never have known otherwise.

I use Facebook for political reasons.  These days it is about the only way I can do politics since my knees won’t allow for me to go out and knock on doors, travel to rallies, or get out and debate political issues.

So let me make some things clear.  I can read.  I can think intelligently.  I know what I believe and why I believe it.  I am not a rumour-monger, nor will I tell a lie just to make someone look bad.  Frankly, I think most people are completely able to make themselves look bad these days.

So this blog goes automatically to Facebook, every time I write something.  Therefore:  when I share a notice that the Republicans have introduced a resolution to keep single women out of the workplace, understand that I know it has not been passed, and it doesn’t stand a chance of becoming a law.  It has only a 2% chance of passing.  But I think you need to know that such a resolution has been introduced.  My Facebook page is public, so it reaches a lot of people.  I actually had one person think she had to make it clear to me that it hadn’t passed.  I know that.  I can read.  But it is information you need to know.

When I read that Jeb Bush wants to faze out Medicare, I understand that he is speaking about it.  I even made sure I had the reference that he actually said such a thing before I made a comment about it.  Jeb Bush probably lost the election when he said that.  I even read his comments about how people already on it would not lose it, but he wanted people younger than 54 to not have to pay in so he could give them something.  Well hooray for him.  But I will tell you that after working for 47 years in the workplace, having had work insurance for most of those years (not all, some employers did not provide it), reaching 65 and getting Medicare has given me the best insurance I have ever had.  It costs me nothing, and I am able to get all my medical care and tests and such without paying a thing (I agree, there are co-pays, but my situation is that I live below the poverty level with my social security, so I have Medicaid backup, which pretty much pays my premiums).  My Medicare is handled under United Health Care, and they cover everything.  I even have $1000 a year dental, which pays for extractions.  It does not cover dentures.

And you could have all had it too, if you had understood that the single payer under the Affordable Care Act (aka Obamacare) would have been Medicare, if everyone hadn’t got all excited about it being brought by President Barack Obama.  Just because he is a half-black man, claims his black heritage, some of you couldn’t get beyond that to take time to understand the bill.  So you supported the Republican lies, paid for by the pharmas (and the Koch Brothers), and lost the chance to get the best kind of medical care available to Americans.  Single-payer works, but you didn’t give it a chance.  Which gives you Paul Ryan and Jeb Bush wanting to get rid of it altogether.

Free education?  Oh, that is a dirty word, is it?  So you prefer to go out and get student loans, which you will never pay off in your lifetime, when if you paid attention, you could completely avoid.  But no, that is a bad thing, and I bet you cannot even tell me why.  Look at Europe, China, India – they all have education for all, free in almost every case, and the students there win all the prizes and education bees, and you don’t like that.  You say the Americans should win every thing because we are the “greatest” country.  We are in no way the greatest country on this earth any longer.  Why?  Because greed and lies tell you so every day of the week.  It just takes a little thought, and a fair group of government, to make the American dream come true.  Go back in history and look at the years just after World War II (but please, while you do that, also understand how black people were treated then, and don’t repeat it).  The Civil Rights Act of 1967 gave them equal rights.  And justly so – they are PEOPLE.

Did you know that during the first 204 days of this year there were 204 gun massacres (not just individual shootings, shootings where some gung-ho idiot decided to take out as many humans as s/he possibly could), though I admit I don’t think I know of any female shooters in massacres – but this is an equal opportunity country.  Right?

Why are you afraid to live without your guns, unless, of course, you are a hunter.  Well, I have friends who are hunters, and although I personally don’t like hunting, I can imagine a day might come when I would have to become a hunter myself – like if we got hit with an EMP, or computer-terrorists, and all electricity went away.  But at least these hunter friends are not going to go out and take down a school, or a movie theatre.

I probably wouldn’t argue about massacres if only those who like to massacre people would fight among themselves, and kill themselves.  That would get them off the face of the earth.  I smile every time I read about a terrorist who accidentally killed him/herself.  Karma!!!!

Religious persecution:  well, that is so wrong that I can’t even come up with enough thought and words to discuss all the cons about it.  This country was founded by people trying to escape religious persecution, and that goes on today in many countries – mostly Islamic, I think, though there are places that still try to keep all religion out of them.  However, it dismays me that we have people in the USA who would turn around and try to persecute our own because they want a national religion, and we don’t need one.  Freedom of religion also means freedom from religion.  No human has the right to tell another how to live.  The only time we have the right to say anything to anyone about how they live is if they are breaking a law, and even I agree that smoking marijuana should not be illegal.

I am tolerant of a lot of things, but I will not abide a person who tries to tell me what I should think, and abuse me if it isn’t how s/he thinks.  I am compassionate, caring, helpful – even if I am not a Christian.

I don’t believe everyone has to believe in abortion.  I don’t like abortion personally, but I am pro-choice.  These days, though, pro-lifers are just yelling about others not choosing abortion, yet they are not at all interested in providing help for children being born in bad situations.  Heck, there are even laws in 28 states where it is forbidden to feed the homeless.  If we can’t take care of our older children and adults who have fallen on hard times (quite often the fault of a great number of us), why do we think they are going to help the children.

I am feeling sorry, these days, for anyone born from 1970 onward.  You have not had a chance to see the greatness this country once had.  The worst mistakes began with Reagan in 1980, and we have gone downhill from that time.  Really.  I had asked, and with help, come to the conclusion that it all started with Reagonomics.  We all voted for that man of great popularity; and what a mistake it turned out to be.  So some of you have never had a chance to understand our years from World War II, and the great things done by Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, early Nixon, Carter.  Sure, there were problems, but they were not aimed at America’s own people by Americans in those days.  We tried with Clinton, after Reagan and Bush I, but then we fell back on that good-old-boy mentality with George Bush II.  What a disaster he brought upon us.  And many of us have tended to blame him for all our ills.  Really, though, it started with Reagan, whom I voted for twice.

I guess if Obama were not a black man, this country would be seen as going back to those better days economically, and even in peace, but we are caught in a mire of trying to get back to being great mixed in by pure, plain old prejudice against a man of a different colour.  I’m afraid black is still not a popular colour, except among fashionistas, and some just seem to prefer orange (the colour of John Boehner).  I truly wish younger people would drop the biases and teachings of their parents and grandparents and reach out for making their own decisions.  Is it too much to ask that you study our history?

Think about it.

Carol Stepp, Austin TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

