Staying low


Lately I have been staying off the computer a lot because there is so much stupidity going on in politics, and in talichristians.

The Texas School Board has approved a new history textbook for the students proclaiming that Moses was one of the founding fathers, and was the writer of the Ten Commandments, which were where the Constitution came from. No, I am not kidding. And sadly, several of the adjoining states use Texas schoolbooks. These are the people who believe the Earth is only 6000 years old, and claim to be able to prove it by the bible. What ignorance.

Then there are those who believe horrible weather is caused by homosexuals. How stupid is that? Are they trying to tell me that blizzards in the Northeast, Hurricane Katrina, the San Francisco earthquake, Mount Hood blowing up as a renewed volcano – and all other events like these – are caused by homosexuals? Like they, and God/dess, are willing to kill the good, compassionate folk, and innocent children, just because s/he is mad at a relatively few people? I’m sorry, I don’t believe in a God/dess that would be that cruel.

Then we’ve got this anti-Obama congress that is still trying to annul the ACA, aka Obamacare. And 47 treasonous (yes, I believe they are, by the Constitution, Article III, Section 3) senators trying to rule this land (yes, I mean rule).

It is all so foolish, and does not bode well for the United States of America.

Well, if these people have their way, you must be getting ready for two events. One is that while the US has never been gutted in a war, other than the Civil War where we gutted ourselves, and if we go to another big war, we won’t get off so easily. There are those who would say the US would never be hit by a bomb, but I say we are not as protected as we were in the past.

Second, if this country were to come anywhere near being ruled by religious factions, you can expect another internal war. Because Christianity was originally Catholic, and the many protestant factions will all believe theirs is the only right religion. So you will see warring between the Baptists, Methodists, Presbyterian, Episcopalian, Mormon, Lutheran, Pentecosts, Seventh Day Adventists, and all the rest of the sub-sects of all of these different Protestant religions, as they all start trying to decide which of these religions must be the official religion of the United States of America.

Anyway, I expect to stay hunkered down in my spot of the earth, and continue to live with love and compassion for all my fellow human beings. And the animals, fish, and birds, and nature in all its glory. I know what my priorities are.

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Crime, Economics, Equality, Family, Finance, Foreign Affairs, Friends, Gay Rights, global warming, Health, Homelessness, Medicine, Mental health, Other media, personal thoughts, Politics, Religious. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

