What Really is Christianity?


I just posted this on my Facebook page, and then decided it might fit here in my blogspace.

Today on TCM, I saw Inherit the Wind for the very first time. I don’t know why I have never seen some of the amazing movies – perhaps because until now, I did not have TCM. I am quite certain my mother would never have permitted me to see it when it came out – she being Church of Christ and all that. I was thinking as I watched it – are there any people in the Bible Belt any longer who don’t feel the way those people in that fictitional town did? I have read the Bible through at least three times, and many “scriptures” many times. When Spencer Tracy’s character chose passages to read to that man, who claimed the earth was only 6000 years old based on the Old Testament, I wish the persons (Clifford Odets and someone else) who wrote that script would have mentioned the verse that says, “to God, a day can be a thousand years, and a thousand years can be a day”. I also have wondered, and have said so many times, why do so-called “christians” want us to live by the Old Testament, and post the Ten Commandments, instead of The Beatitudes (Matthew 5: 1-12). There was no Jesus, surnamed Christ, anywhere in the Old Testament. Yes, I’m a pagan of the Celtic Heritage, and definitely believe in a higher being, a God/dess, a spirit entity without a person’s face, but really, I know the Bible very well, and that is what really gets me about those who call themselves Christians, when they don’t even seem to know what that means.

I can pick apart many bible passages, especially these days, but it is something I don’t regularly do unless I have been challenged by something like this movie Inherit the Wind which I just saw for the first time.

I simply do not understand how anyone can take this bible, put together by catholic priests in 326 AD, so seriously. At the time the bible was put together, there was no Christian church except the catholic church – the protestant churches didn’t even exist until Martin Luther posted his however many edicts there were on that church door. And then men came along and chose what they wanted to become their own churches – like Methodist, Presbyterian, Baptist, etc. etc. etc.

I just don’t understand at all.

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

