My year in review


Altogether this year, I had a very good year. Some ups and downs, but certainly more ups than downs, by at least ten to one. The best as far as blogs are concerned, that my blog about Christmas for the Elderly went viral. First time that has ever happened. The worst – finding out about my sister’s death a year and a half after it happened. Knowing that family really does hate me that much.

I did not post my college football bowl picks this year, nor did I enter them in any contest. Too bad. Today, after 21 games, I have had only five losses. Pretty good for an old woman, but football is not a no-no for older women. After all, I played in high school band, and I love Daryl LaMonica. So today I was delighted that Notre Dame won their bowl, even though they played one of my three 2nd favourite teams, LSU. Another Tiger team won – Clemson, wow, did they wipe out Oklahoma. And that leaves Auburn, which plays New Year’s Day against Wisconsin.

I am all tucked up in my apartment for the next four days. Temperatures starting tomorrow are going the be the coldest so far this winter, though you gotta remember this is Central Texas where I am, and we rarely get really cold weather. But I’ve got my food, my cigarettes, and a dozen bowl games for the next four days (plus two more today). I have my field peas and collards and Texas Toast for Thursday, so I’ll be warm and cozy. I even have three bottles of hard cider for tomorrow night, which does not seem to affect me like beer or any other type of alcohol.

I want to wish everyone a good coming new year. I always feel funny trying to say Happy New Year because that usually refers only to the day itself. And I truly hope all my friends and readers have good days all 2015 long.

Love to you all, ta for now, from

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Friends, Medicine, Mental health, personal thoughts, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

