I lost


Really, it is true, Alice won her seat as President of our resident council again, but I lost. But then I voted for the other person myself.

It became clear to me last week, before the elections, that I no longer wanted to be on the Board of Directors at the complex where I live. But by then it was too late to drop out because it would have messed up the election cycle for the time, so I had written out a resignation letter prior to learning the results. Then when I discovered I had lost, I did my little happy dance, right in front of the assistant manager.

I won’t go into the reasons why I changed my mind – it would be inappropriate to say bad things about the place I live. And since I still like my apartment, and like the complex itself, I don’t want to say anything bad about it. So I’ll leave it at I think I lost because I am a bit too principled, and perhaps a little too outspoken about some of the things I see not so good here. Anyway, much as I have felt about the national political scene, I just decided that I am “too old” for some of the goings on around here, and really am ready to take that well-deserved retirement I need. I want calm and serenity around me, and if staying out of the limelight will give that to me, then that is what I will do.

So last weekend, I got 13 out of 15 of the college football games right. The two I missed was a) an upset (South Carolina lost) and b) a mistake I made when I chose one team over another – I actually thought I had chosen Miami over Duke, but when I looked at what I had circled, I discovered I had circled Duke, which lost. Oh this world of college football – the week before I got only 8 out of 15, and the sportswriters didn’t fare much better – a whole bunch of upsets. I do love college football.

As for NASCAR, I am still hoping Dale Jr. will pull out a win or two, even maybe the championship. At least all of Rick Hendricks cars are still in the running.

Otherwise, life goes on, and now I am hitting my goal of “happy” again. I do wish I had heard from my niece again, but she does have her own life, with a fairly new husband, and two grown children, and living in a place where I would probably like to live – Tennessee near the Smoky Mountains. But Austin is where I’ll stay because I could never get as sweet a deal as I have here elsewhere, and I know which side of the bread holds the butter.

I have spent a little time on Facebook lately – not enough perhaps – but at least my friends there are still my friends, and I still love them all dearly. As I do you, my readers. Keep on keeping on, I see rainbows ahead (but then looking through rose-coloured glasses will do that for you).

Ta for now, love you all.
Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Economics, Friends, Health, Mental health, personal thoughts, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

