Hello again.


Wow, it has been about a month since I wrote anything, but I seem to just not have a lot to write about these days.  Probably because I am not doing much writing about politics.

But, I am fine, and staying pretty busy with my duties as Vice President of our Residents’ Council Board of Directors.  About the only thing I am writing right now is as co-writer of our apartment complex’s monthly newsletter.  Since we are having elections for the next board of director’s on the 26th of this month, I am sort of just waiting to see if I make it.  If so, it will be for the next three years.  Both the president and I have opponents, but we both feel like we are not likely to be defeated.  Obviously I refuse to be arrogant about it, and have no intention of cheering for being a winner until the election is over and the votes are counted.  Alice and I have posted a campaign poster on the bulletin boards because if we hadn’t, perhaps the folks would have thought we were just too sure of ourselves.  So we aren’t letting it get by us without showing some interest, but I honestly think the likelihood of winning again is probably fairly certain.  Of course, I will let you know, and in the meantime, I am not taking anything for granted.  I have been wrong before, and shall be again.

What is going on otherwise is that, of course, college football season took me by surprise, but not too late, and I am as before putting myself up against the seven local newspaper sports writers in choosing the teams to win each week.  I’ve seen some good games already, and am wondering what has happened to the Big 10 this year.  I am also going to think seriously about getting more sports channels because the basic cable we get here at the complex does not have those “premium” channels.  I especially need to get SEC in here.  Admittedly my fave team, Notre Dame, is not in the SEC, and I get to see them on NBC week, but I am also a huge Tigers fan (I know, lots of Tigers out there – just read LSU, Auburn, and Clemson for Tigers), and am not certain of seeing them play every week.

We have been suffering through out standard Central Texas hot temps this summer, but surprisingly, they have not been as hot as they were last year.  Still top 90s, but we have not had nearly as many triple digit days this year as we have in the last couple of years.  Tonight we are having our first “cool” front, to be followed by our first “cold” front tomorrow, so the temperature is not supposed to get above the low 80s.  OK, stop laughing – it really is a relief to us here, but I’m sure some of you are already dealing with pretty cool weather.  I just wish we really had real seasons here – I would love to watch the trees turn pretty colours.

So I’m watching Baylor walk all over Buffalo right now, and really have nothing else to talk about, so I’ll stop for now.  Just remember, I love you all, and wish for peace and love for everyone.  I’ll be back with you soon.  But ta for now.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Friends, personal thoughts, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

