Miscellaneous Stuff


My last two blogs were sort of downers, so I thought I’d do something to let you all know I am doing quite well.

The Last Ship:  Is anyone watching this show?  It is a pretty amazing story, and with tomorrow’s episode, will be over for the season.  I am looking forward to seeing how they are going to end the storyline at this point.  By the previews, it looks like it is going to be pretty wild.

Sharknado and Sharknado2:  Is anyone watching these shows.  Sharknado became a big cult favourite last summer, and this summer’s part 2 is just absolutely hilarious.  To begin with, there was a shout-out to William Shatner’s turn on Twilight Zone of years ago, with the shark landing on the wing outside of Finn’s window.  And then to see Robert Hays in the cockpit was a shout-out to Airplane.  And with Finn taking over the cockpit and having to land the plane tied that bit up.  How many of you recognized Kelly Osborne as the stewardess, who loses her head.  Because there are folks who haven’t seen either of the shows, I won’t go into too much detail; there are just a lot of hilarious bits in it, and, an amazing number of folks who wanted cameos – Kelly Ripa, Michael Strahan, Al Roker, Matt Lauer, Andy Dick, Judd Hirsch (driving a taxi), and more.  I understand part 3 is being filmed as I write this.  Watch for the bit about “jumping the shark”.

Actually, I watched a lot of shark movies on SyFy this summer.  The Two-Headed Shark makes me burst out laughing.  How convenient for those two water-skiiers, and those two lasses standing on the pier, that they were just exactly spaced so the two-headed shark could take them both out at once.  LOL.

Jurassic Park and its siblings have been on AMC a lot this summer, and I learned that Jurassic Park IV is also being filmed for release next year.  It supposedly is going to be back on Isla Nublar, and the park is finally going to be opened.  I have discussed with some friends about who will star in it.  The best we can come up with is perhaps the two grandchildren will be the ones who finally open the park, mostly because Richard Attenborough is a bit long in the tooth, his son is dead, and I cannot see either Sam Neill or Jeff Goldblum in their characters wanting to go back.  But after what the two grandkids went through in the first one, I cannot really picture their wanting to go back.  Maybe there is another member of that family we don’t know about yet.  And since the first three movies included storylines about children, I am predicting that the storyline for Jurassic Park 4 may revolve around more children visiting the park.  But no, I don’t have any inside information, and am purely speculating.

Royal Pains:  I haven’t formed a final opinion on this season’s show.  I didn’t much like the storyline about Evan getting involved financially with the gangster-like character.  I like Paige going into business for herself with her former boss, especially if they are going to work truly free-lance.  I am glad Hank got a girlfriend, and has been working as a doctor again, but looking at the previews for next week, I don’t want to see him not become a member of the Board of Directors.  I am truly hoping it has to do with his wanting to just be a doctor, and not because his girlfriend is going to be able to see again.  I liked Divya before she had Sashi, but I think that storyline will get better, and she will be our old Divya again, even with her little girl.  Jeremiah I still like, and I hope he finds himself getting a little less stiff with women.  The sister:  I am frightened of what she is going to do with those prescription forms, and I hope she is found out before she does any more harm to Hank.  She grew up as a con artist, and her selling photos has already got Hank in trouble.  I honestly don’t know if she should become a permanent part of the show; for the time being she is still listed as a guest star.  Finally, this last week, did any of my friends who used to watch All My Children recognize Alicia Minshew (who was listed under her married name as a guest star), who played Kendall, as Joe’s wife?  I had to watch it twice to be sure it was her.

We just had our nominations for the new Resident Council Board of Directors, and elections will occur in September, near the end.  We don’t know the nominations yet, but I know all of us on the present board decided to run again, and I’m pretty optimistic about our chances of winning again.  But I refuse to be arrogant and say we will.  I’ll just have to wait like everyone else.  I am enjoying working with our present, and I hope to be next president, on our newsletter.  I have even figured out a way using my computer to print it out in Spanish as well as English, as we have five households in this apartment complex, who speak no English.

We are having our usual hot Central Texas summer, though we have not had as many three-digit temperatures this year as we had last year.  August is a good time to stay inside, though.

As for politics, I am still a fan of Barack Obama, and hope he will get the backing he needs this coming election to give him the people who will enable him to do more for the US.  I would love to see a bill passed to work on the infrastructure and put more people to work.  The stock market has really been fluctuating, but I think that is just a pattern for the country.  However, I am staying out of politics for the first time in 68 years.  It has been so ugly, and so frustrating, it has done nothing to help me with my stress and depression.  I am very sad that people are having to fight the same fights I did 50 years ago, and to see we are still a nation with too much bigotry.  I hope we grow up soon, or I don’t think our country will be a country very much longer.

So for now, I’m going to close this.  Just wanted to let you all know I am still here, still working on “happy”, and still enjoying my life most of the time.  The news about my sister affected me a lot more than I thought it would, but I know where the blame lies, and I am getting where I need to be.  I’m supposed to be going to Corpus Christi for a visit in the next two or three months, but I’m not sure I can go that soon, since she is no longer there.  We will see.

I love you all, and hope your lives are going well.  And if not, then I am sending you best wishes over the ether to help make it better.

Take care,

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

