Housing


I recently read that there is nowhere in the United States where a person working forty hours per week on minimum wage can afford a two-bedroom apartment. How shameful that this country has come to that.

On the same day, I learned that my assisted housing organization has moved to list applicants for housing to two lists – one for the newly homeless (meaning those individuals/families who have recently lost their homes due to rising rents/mortgages), and one for the disabled. While I recognize that there are special needs folks, i.e. disabled, my experience after five years of living in assisted housing is that not everyone who claims being disabled is incapable of working. Yes, I understand that not everyone who is disabled shows it physically – I am among them; my problems with clinical depression and PTSD could have enabled me to get this housing had I had a doctor I could convince to sign papers for me.

But my assisted housing is because although I worked 47 years in the workforce (officially), and live on my social security, I got my housing due to poverty and age. I cannot possibly live on the economy on my social security, and I have no family to help me out.

So I am in favour of what my housing agency is doing now. My concern is for those who go to work everyday, yet struggle to pay for a roof over their heads, and to buy groceries.

I still say we need to have a Revolution. I’m willing to put my life on the line for it. How many others are?

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Economics, Finance, Health, Homelessness, Mental health. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

