George Donaldson


On Wednesday, the world lost a wonderful man. More important, Carolyn lost a beloved husband and Sarah a much loved father. It was wise, perhaps, that the news didn’t get out until today because it gave the family time to grieve and handle grievous requirements. I hope the family is not having to undergo unwanted fan attention at this horrific time in their lives.

I understand that Celtic Thunder is the love of many people’s lives – they were a very important group to me for some time. I was astounded at the popularity and love for the group, a phenomenon which I had not seen since the Beatles fifty years ago. I devoted a year of my life to them in blogs and interacting with other fans. I was blessed to see them early on while they were the original group. And through them I discovered many other singers and bands.

Let us all mourn for the loss of a wonderful man and singer, and feel completely blessed that we got to know him. Give his family and friends some space to mourn and learn to deal with his leaving us all at an early age. I know his fans feel like part of that family, and rightly so, but think first of his wife and daughter, and grieve with them while giving them freedom to deal with their sorrow.

We have his voice on recordings, both audio and visual, and know the world is better off for his having lived.

We love you, George.

Carol Step
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Music, personal thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

