A Letter in the Austin American-Statesman 3/11/14


The following letter appeared in the Austin, TX American-Statesman newspaper on March 11, 2014. I did not write one single word in this letter, but I felt like it should get better coverage than just appearing in the local newspaper. The writer has perhaps sent the letter to other newspapers, but I thought my blog page might reach a wider audience since I have readers all over the globe. I very much agree with every single word Mr. Gooding wrote. I have not asked Mr. Gooding if I could do this, but I will be sending him an email letting him know I did, and if he requests I take it down, I will do so immediately. Again, not one word in this letter is mine, nor am I receiving any compensation of any kind for copying it here.

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

From the Austin American-Statesman of March 11, 2014, written by Mr. Don Gooding of Rockdale, TX

View in mirror not pretty (Statesman’s title for the letter)

We are truly an exceptional nation. Politicians send our troops into harm’s way and spare no expense in waging war but can’t find money to facilitate the needs of returning veterans. We send billions of dollars to foreign countries to help their needy but can’t find the money to feed our own needy.

We pride ourselves on our democratic values of voting rights and equal treatment under the law and then suppress voting with trumped up accusations and deny equal treatment of the LGBT community. We hold Christian values above all things and yet consider the poor, the elderly and the infirm as “parasites” and “takers”. We value guns more than our children. We are a country of bigots, haters, liars and plutocrats. Yes, we are exceptional, but are we proud of what we are?

Don Gooding
Rockdale

Again, I am in total agreement with Mr. Gooding’s words, as I have written over and over here and elsewhere. Today I wanted to let you know that another person feels the same way I and many others do these days, and he says it quite eloquently.

Carol

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Crime, Economics, Equality, Foreign Affairs, Gay Rights, Homelessness, Other media, Politics, Religious, Voting Rights. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

