Sochi Olympics closing – Daytona 500


Well, the 2014 Winter Olympic Games are over, and they successfully were held without any serious political problems. A Russian skier was badly injured in a skiing practice on the 15th, and after surgery, in Germany, she has no feeling from her navel down. She is hopeful, however, that she will walk again.

The closing ceremonies were interesting, and beautiful. I enjoyed the salutes to composers, writers, and artists was beautiful, though the upside down town was a bit weird, and I found myself contemplating how those actors were attached so they could stand upside down for their part of the show. The rush of blood to their heads must have been uncomfortable, but I would have been afraid I would fall out of my shoes. I also did not know Marc Chagall was Russian – I thought he was French.

I loved that winners of the Russian teams carried the Russian flag in. It was fun to see Evgeney Plushenko, perhaps for the last time.

Also pretty was the turning over of the Olympic flag to the nation hosting the 2018 Olympics in South Korea, Pyeongcheng, I think it is. The Korean woman singing was beautiful. I wept a tear when the Russian Bear blew out the Olympic flame, and after that, I changed the channel to Fox to see the last of the Daytona 500.

I know there was going to be a late show, but I figured it would have been about the athletes dancing to various bands. Which might have been weird since Russia is not known for lots of pop music. Probably missed something good.

However, it was well-worth it to me to see the last of the Daytona 500 because my beloved Dale Earnhardt Jr. won. His second Daytona, his first win for a long time. And with the new way of scoring for the Chase, I understand he is virtually already in. Not that I can figure out the new rules yet. But I will.

As after college football was over, I feel the same way after the Olympics. What is left for TV. But I was happy on Monday night when I learned that my old guilty pleasure was back, Dallas, and I enjoyed watching the reruns leading up to the new season; then on Tuesday I saw Rizzoli and Isles reruns, leading up to the new season (still not sure about R&I), and tonight, Revolution restarts, I found out today that the FX series The Americans are back tonight. So things are not lost, and I am glad to know there is good TV on again.

Well, Sunday NASCAR races and college football begins again in September. So I’ll survive. And in the meantime, I’ve got politics to keep me busy.

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Olympics, Other media, personal thoughts, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

