War


The first paragraph is something I wrote on my Facebook page as a result of getting a posting about Syria.

Here is the thing with me and war, especially in the Middle East. The more the US interferes in these things, the worse it gets over there. I recommend the movie The Peacemaker to everyone who has never seen it and thinks we should continue to interfere (a better word than intervene). Leave them alone. Let them work out their own problems. They are more likely to come to terms if outsiders would quit supporting one side or another. We, the outsiders, are nothing but enablers. Get our embassies out of every country that is having a problem, but keep our defenses ready in case it leaks over to us. It likely will never do that, and when they run out of arms, or bodies, they will tire of ruin.

This paragraph is what I wrote when I first heard about the Ukraine.

I was not aware anything was going on in the Ukraine. Nothing has been said during the Olympics. But knowing Odessa and Sochi are both on the Black Sea, I had to look it up in an atlas. They are both on the Black Sea, but in two very different areas. I rather imagine the coverage is not that big right now because of the Games. Because if it gets close, the games will probably be cancelled, and I’m quite sure Putin does not want that to happen. Nor would the amateur athletes who go there to challenge themselves and their fellow athletes. I wonder if the athletes from the Ukraine have left the games. I am thinking that people who don’t follow the Olympics don’t even realize how close it all is.

And this is a comment I made in reply to someone who assured me that Putin knew what was going on, and was hurrying it on.

I’m sure he could. But I’m not sure he would want to at this time. I’m not on his side, but I am on the side of the Olympic Games. There is another inland sea that comes off the Black Sea, and it makes it a very long way for the fight to disrupt the games. Putin really wants these Olympics to succeed, and bring some money into the country, considering what they have spent. So I think he is no more happy about the trouble than anyone else is. The blow-up was probably timed to happen now. I hope I don’t sound cold-hearted, but my belief is that if people around the world have trouble with one another, let them work it out themselves. We don’t need to interfere. But, if necessary, I would do everything to protect the athletes themselves. I just hate when the world gets in the way of folks trying to get along.

The games in Sochi are already under a huge amount of security because of threats of terrorism. I think it is good that the games are going so smoothly, at least as America is seeing them. I don’t think if there were trouble in Sochi that the games would be continuing. My main gripe about this whole thing about Putin and the Ukraine and the politics don’t have any place in the Olympic Games. As my last sentence says, why are there people who want only to disrupt any sort of incident where people are getting along. Really, we need to turn the world over to the youth of the world, and those who are interested in anything that brings peace and friendship to citizens of the world.

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Foreign Affairs, Olympics, personal thoughts, Politics, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

