A comment on Obama Hatred


A new friend of mine, Malina Lobel-karimi, wrote this on Facebook, and I was so impressed with it, and agreed with it 100%, and asked if she would let me copy it to my blogspace. I promised she would get full credit and I would not change a single word. She gave me permission, and here it is.

Malina Lobel-karimi
November 13 at 2:58pm near Palm Springs, CA · ..

I am no apologist for Barack Obama. I don’t need to be. I also do not agree with everything the man has done and that hopey, changey thing…hasn’t been enough. However, I do understand his position as the first African-American president and not coming in or being perceived as…the angry black guy. Besides, it’s probably not even in his DNA.

Fairly or unfairly, presidents get the blame when things go awry as they get the glory when all goes well, whether merited or not.

Right now, Obama is at 39% favorability due in huge part to snafus, glitches, whatever, in ACA. That it’s working fine at state levels is being practically ignored. That PERHAPS…just PERHAPS this system was rigged by CGI isn’t even being discussed. Maybe that silence in this case, is speaking volumes. That the vast right-wing is as McDonald’s puts it, loving it, is their way. Partisan politics as usual, instead of working together FOR THE PEOPLE in fixing the problem. When Bush came out with medicare part D and it wasn’t working properly, democrats worked WITH BUSH, NOT AGAINST HIM. They did so, in the best interest OF THE PEOPLE.

The computer language used was “flawed” and “amateurish” it has been said by those who actually understand computer language. Fixing it is not in the GOP’s best interest, therefore no heavy lifting on their part is expected or forthcoming.

Democrats, as long as I can remember have been a spineless bunch. Right now, it would seem that Bill Clinton, in trying to get daylight between Hillary and Obama, is making statements that at face value, looks to be throwing Obama under a bus. What his true intent is, I don’t know since unlike Bush who “looked into Putin’s eye and got a sense of his soul” I tried looking into Bill’s eyes; I got nothin’.

I don’t believe in kicking someone when they’re down, especially Obama, who has survived so much dissent, hatred, vitriol, attacks from the right NEVER previously…ENJOYED…by any president in modern history and he has risen each time, much like the Phoenix rising from the ashes.

Americans, they want immediate gratification…immediately. No patience; little sense of history and very short memories. Perhaps it would behoove us as a country to grow some much needed patience. A lens to see history through; lose that sense of immediacy; gain a little perspective through that historical lens and ultimately develop some temperament especially when encountered with such massive legislation.

Keep in mind, ACA was designed to revamp a system that wasn’t working for many more millions of us, denied health insurance due to ‘pre-existing’ conditions or those whose insurance premiums had become unsustainable and NOT so much for those healthy (healthier) people WITH insurance.

Again, please gain some perspective on this vast issue. When history will conclusively be written, I am convinced that it will shine with that same light as the New Deal is today. Keep in mind, when FDR created that monumental piece of legislation, it was received poorly by members of his own party, never mind, the opposition. Fan or foe, FDR was elected four times; he must have done something…properly.

End of Malina’s comments.

This is Carol, adding my thoughts which I gave her. I have lived through many presidencies, from FDR (who I don’t remember, really) through Truman, my first real knowledge being about Eisenhower, all the way through Barack Obama, and I hope to live to see another one or two. In all those years, I never saw the ugliness and hatred I see these days because Obama simply is half-black. I can’t imagine what it would be if he were 100% black. Nixon didn’t get this much hatred over Watergate.

Carol Stepp
Austin, Texas

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Economics, Equality, Foreign Affairs, Medicine, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

