Another American Dream – Poof


A couple of weeks ago, I came here and told you I was planning to run for US Senator in the Democratic Party for the State of Texas, against the present Republican Senator John Cornyn. My intention was just to show him somebody had the guts to stand up against him.

I had quite a bit more support than I thought I would get, and plenty of folks offering to send me the money to file my candidacy. I had a friend who wanted to be my campaign treasurer, and a couple of people in mind to be my campaign manager and a webmaster to run a website for me.

Then another friend warned me not to take in any money without clearing it with the Federal Election Commission. Nancy and I went looking for the FEC, and she found a video on YouTube with voice-teaching on how to fill out the paperwork for the FEC.

I naively believed in the adage “anyone born in the US can become president”, and thought that probably meant all the other public seats, including Senator, as well. But this is not true.

In order to file with the FEC, I had to have a committee in place, a campaign manager, a working website, and two treasurers (though I could have been the second treasurer). So I got a Catch-22. You see, I had to have all that money up front in order to do that. So it became I needed money before I could run, but I needed to file before I started asking for money.

Originally I wanted to file just because I could, and then as I got into it, I got really excited. You see, I could do the job, and my platform would have been as a person living below the poverty level, with a share of what some call entitlements, but which are really things I have worked for all my life – 47 years in the workplace – and which I had paid into. I was going to go out and make speeches about how I would be there with the intention of trying to make things better for the poor and the lower middle class. Because I know how we have to live in order to have a life. I was bitterly disappointed to learn that the American dream seems to be only for those who can already afford to live that dream, and who then want to have power so they can keep the poorer citizens in bondage. Really, it took me several days to get used to the idea, before I could even write this blog.

I blame the PACs, I think, for this. They set the level so high for We the People to compete with them. So I don’t get to be a Senator. I sincerely hope that someone will come out against John Cornyn on the liberal side in Texas – he already has a teapublican more teapartier than he is running against him. And the Teapublicans in this state are so certain Cornyn cannot lose that the announcement of the other registration was mentioned on page four of the second section of the newspaper.

I won’t give up politics, but apparently I will have to continue writing blogs and stuffing envelopes and all the other little things needing doing to help other liberals into public offices in Texas.

Well, Texas was once a Democratic state, and it can be again. I hope it will be in 2014.

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Equality, personal thoughts, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

