Running for U. S. Senator from Texas


I have realized that my previous title is misleading. What I intended is I am thinking about running for U. S. Senator from Texas, against the teapublican John Cornyn. I have, since I wrote this, learned that someone will probably come out against John Cornyn. That is fine – I will support that person with the same vigor as I will be supporting Wendy Davis for Texas Governor. But my thoughts still stand – if no-one comes out for that Democratic seat, I will still file, just to let Cornyn know that someone has the guts to go up against him. I am leaving the rest of this un-edited.

Folks, I got on FaceBook today, talking about signing up to run against John Cornyn as Texas Senator, if someone hasn’t signed up by the deadline, which is December 9, in Texas. It was supposed to be sort of a wake-up call to my many followers to maybe get someone to step up. As it turns out, many of my friends are wanting me to be serious.

The following is the comment I am leaving for the day, to be stirred around in someone’s mind.

Here is the thing: I will be 73 on December 4, I live on social security and don’t have much in the way of money, I use a walker to go big distances on foot, I don’t own a car. But, I am not afraid of speechifying in front of huge crowds, I know the U. S. Constitution, and I have not got a criminal record. I have voted since the day I could first sign up. I have worked in politics, so I know the rocky road. I have never held a public seat politically, although I have been on boards of directors and held other elected offices in organizations.

Here is one more thought for what I seem to have started today. I am perfectly willing to put myself out for ridicule just to get John Cornyn’s attention. I believe I am perfectly capable of being a U. S. Senator, although I wonder if it isn’t reaching a little high to begin with. But my main concern is getting Cornyn to understand that there is a person out here who is willing to take him, and the teapartiers, on. Yes, I would need money; no I don’t think I should have to have millions. Yes, I am a bit physically not a beautiful person. No, I don’t think that should matter as long as I can do the job. What began today was to get someone’s attention. What has resulted is that there are a lot of people who are taking me seriously, and it is a thing I would totally enjoy. I have no fear about making speeches, appearing at rallies, doing anything I am physically capable of. Yes, I most certainly would need help including a couple or three people who would take on the jobs of campaign treasurer, campaign manager, website manager. I am perfectly willing to be a place-holder. But someone needs to step up, and if this is a case of “if you believe it, maybe you should do it”, and if I have enough people who care that I do this, I will do it, even if I have no chance at all of winning. Who knows – I could ride in on the tails of the anti-teapublican thing going on. Anyway, I’m going to step away from the computer for a while, and let this simmer for at least a few hours, and then talk about it with a few people before I make a final decision, about the 1st of the month. For those who have said they will send money, thank you. Obviously you don’t do so until I have a campaign, and a campaign address. I am wondering if I have to leave my assisted housing in order to do this. But probably not since the money won’t be personal income. So, watch this space.

So surprisingly, or maybe not, this is where my life is today. I think this would be fun, and I would definitely enjoy it. If I’m reaching a little high, well, so what. If I don’t try, I certainly cannot win. If I try and lose, well at least I made a splash in a puddle.

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Equality, Finance, Other media, personal thoughts, Politics, States Rights, Voting Rights, Women's Rights. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Running for U. S. Senator from Texas

  1. Bill says:

    Now this is some exciting news!! Carol you would make a great Senator! You know the topics and can express yourself. I don’t always agree with your views on all the issues but you make sense. I would love to be one of your staff supporters. If you are serious please tell me how I can help and lets’s kick some butt!!!

    Bill Piotrowski
    Proud supporter of Carol Stepp for Texas Senator

Leave a Reply

