Just to say hello


I see I still have readers on a day-to-day basis, even if I haven’t written anything lately. To I thought I would stop in to let you all know I’m still here, and still in operating mode. It is just that I have been spending a lot of time doing jigsaw puzzles, and watching old movies, and trying to get away from politics before I blow up.

This shutdown is really hurting people, and I think it goes on and on because Boehner and the teapublicans don’t know how to get themselves out. That they are trying to pin it on Obama, but spend time trying to get little individual laws out for things THEY are worried about, tells me they know the truth and are just trying to obfuscate things. That the republican man from Indiana wants respect tells me he is worried, and he should be. You EARN respect, you don’t just get it because we are scared. The Texan Neugebaur wants to blame the shutdown of the memorials on the people who work and stand guard. There is so much ridiculousness over this whole thing that it certainly points out the idiocy of the teapubs. I am so glad that Ted Cruz is losing face, and probably everything else, because of HIS idiocy. Since I doubt I have any teapublican readers here, I don’t imagine this will get to any of them, unless one of you has a friend you want to read it. John Boehner really was undercut and left out to dry over this. I am signing petition after petition for this wreck of our political system.

On another note, I am happy to see that people are naysaying these teapublicans by signing on to the ACA (i.e., Obamacare) in such numbers that the system crashed, and the people who run the computers are taking the weekend off to upgrade the system, make it broader and larger, taking out the bugs, so all of you who are still trying to get in, please be patient. You have a couple of months to get signed on in time for it to go into active mode by the first of the year.

I have signed on to Wendy Davis’ campaign for governor of Texas. I sent her money, and will be sending more, and ordered my first, but probably not my last, tee shirt and button for her campaign. You see, in spite of what the pundits may say, I believe she has a really good chance of winning. Dan Rather says Greg Abbott is “smart, nice-talking, farther right than Rick Perry”, but you know what, we here in Texas are not fooled by any of that. I think Dan, who is a liberal, is mis-reading the situation, and should probably spend more time in Texas, his home state.

In other news, my college football season is going pretty well – yesterday’s winning choices came out 13/2, a much better record than last week, but in spite of last week, I am still on the positive side, percentage wise.

And I am most certainly a lot more relaxed than I have been. I am one of the lucky ones – I am not personally affected by the shutdown, my social security and food stamps are still intact, and still coming in. Medicare has especially good to me lately, especially since I got an in-home doctor (I am not homebound, but with no car, and arthritic knees, it saves me time and effort to go out to a doctor, and now I have one doctor to keep up with my six prescriptions – a thing the clinic I was going to wanted me to change to).

I was going back to my hometown on a short trip this month, and then changed it to the first week in December, but I don’t think I’m going to make it that soon (and Joyce, you are reading it here first) because I need a new sofa for my living room – this lawn chair is not giving me proper support – and I want to get it now instead of later. As well, my next-door neighbor, who I have done a lot of things for, fell a few days ago and broke her hip, and she was going to be my cat sitter. She will be down for several months. And while I want to make one last trip to my hometown, right now I have other things at the top of my priority list.

I was going to write a blog about this past season’s Royal Pains, but instead, I wrote something regularly on the Royal Pains FB page for almost all of the episodes. I will say I still don’t like Evan, think Paige can do better for herself, like the combination of Divya and Jeremiah, and still like Mark Feuerstein enough to stick with the show.

Revolution has come back, and it is about as confusing at times as “Lost”, but then it has one of the same producers, so that should come as no surprise.

Anyway, that’s where my life is today. I considered myself quite lucky, happy, and enjoying my life. No doubt you will be hearing from me a lot more over politics in the next few months. In the meantime, cheers to you all, love to you all, and watch this space.

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Economics, Equality, Finance, Medicine, Other media, personal thoughts, Politics, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just to say hello

  1. Bill says:

    Nice hearing from you. Sorry to hear your postponing your trip home. I believe Joyce will be a little
    disappointed but I understand your reasons and I’m sure she will too. We are still in Ohio and our departure date has been changed several times due to unforeseen events. Our new and latest date puts us on the road around October 15th. I do volunteer work for LHL (literacy Highland Lakes) and need to be in Texas by October 19th. Take care.

    Bill

Leave a Reply

