Paul Byrom’s PBS Special


I wrote this blog while watching the show, on the Paul’s Nightingales page on Facebook. I edited it from the page itself, leaving off comments from others, and all the “likes” So this is written as it happened.

Paul is gorgeous. Paul is singing, and his second song was Shenandoah, which is one of my all-time favourites of semi-classical pieces. Now he is doing an old Andy Williams song. I like the way Paul is wearing his hair.

Here comes Damian. Damian is really grown-up. He has turned into a great replacement for Frank Sinatra, as I knew he would be.
He and Paul sang a song from their joint tour titled Me and My Shadow.

OMG, one of my all-time faves of classical music – Bella Fantasia.

He just spoke about the Lounge Lizards. They are an Austin act, originated here. But they were a comic group, so I don’t know if there are other groups called the Lounge Lizards. Paul just took his jacket off. I’m typing as the show goes on. He just a little dance to “You’re Like a Little Serenade”.

He just introduced the Phil Coulter Orchestra.

Phil is at the piano, and he is talking. He is talking about his son with Down’s Syndrome, and he is going to play “Scorn Not His Simplicity”, which is one of my fave Phil Coulter pieces. Yes, Paul is singing it. I also love Ronan Tynan’s version of it. Makes me cry.

Phil is getting a standing ovation. Paul is singing the title song, This is the Moment. Now Paul is getting a standing ovation.

You know, to me, Paul, Phil, and Damian are the best of Celtic Thunder. I like Keith, of course, but this is my kind of music when it isn’t Irish. Phil just referred to Paul as his son-in-law over the air. I know Paul and Dom are at this moment planning their wedding, but they have been together a long time, and among most of us, the wedding is just a formality, though I’m sure it will be a grand formality. I don’t know what date it is, but it will be very soon.

One of my favourite Broadway shows, as most of my readers know who regularly read my blogs, is Les Miserables. I have written about the play and the movies extensively in the last year. Now Paul Byrom is singing the beautiful prayer “Bring Him Home” which Valjean sing so eloquently about Marius. You will remember that it was sung quite well equally by Colm Wilkinson, Alfie Boe, and Hugh Jackman. Now Paul is singing it just as well.

Paul is singing “My Land”, one of the most beautiful songs about Ireland. He spoke about how no matter how far an Irishperson roams, no matter where s/he lands, s/he is still Irish. I am as Irish as it is possible to be without having been born there in this life. But I believe I was a native in a past life. Certainly the Irish/Celtic heritage is there within my own spirituality, and Paul is simply magnificent singing this particular Irish song.

Danny Boy. So many Irish and other tenors sing this song beautifully – Paul Byrom is singing it superbly. It always sounds best when sung by a real Irishman (deliberately do not say woman because this is a song best sung by real Irish tenors).

Paul is singing his final song, in Italian. It is “All By Myself”.

Encore: Remember me, Recuerdo me.

This was a fund-raising show for PBS, so watch for it on your local PBS station, you that love Paul Byrom but know him only from Celtic Thunder. I have ordered the CD and DVD combination, thus making my donation to PBS.

I hope a lot of you will do the same.

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Music, Other media, personal thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paul Byrom’s PBS Special

  1. Get Smart says:

    This is the man who said the songwriting on Fleadh’s latest album “was very good”. That is, to say the least, brilliant for Fleadh and myself. Yep, that made my day!

  2. Hello! I’ve been following your web site for a
    long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and
    give you a shout out from Porter Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up
    the fantastic work!

Leave a Reply

