Victory after Defeat


Well, yesterday, the first thing I heard when I turned on the tv was that the Supreme Court with a vote of 5-4 took the guts out of the Civil Rights Act of 1967-68, signed by Lyndon B. Johnson. I immediately wrote a blog, detailing my frustration of having everything I ever worked for knocked out of law, from basic voting rights for every American to the War on Women.

But the day was not lost: last evening and night I was involved in the activities of women in Texas, and watched and applauded as Senator Wendy Davis, and her fellow Democratic Senators, filibustered long enough, with an additional ten minutes of chanting and cheering women in the galary of the Texas Statehouse to keep SB5 from getting voted in. This despite the Republicans pulling every trick in the book (and some not) to end the filibuster so they could pass the bill. David Dewhurst et al. even tried to pass it after hours, but there was too much camera-proof, and news people, there to assure that this did not happen.

Also during the day, Massachusetts elected Senator Markey to fill John Kerry’s vacant seat, defeating the Republican candidate handily.

Finally today I learned that the Supreme Court tossed out DOMA as not being constitutional.

So though I started the day on a low point, it ended many hours later on a high point, and today an even higher point. The Voting Rights of blacks and Hispanics need to be addressed again, and it will be, but for now if they want to vote, there are going to be barriers in their ways.

Also, as for SB5 in Texas, it is called the abortion bill. It is really just a bill that allows clinics to remain open that help women with all kinds of physical problems, and abortion is only a small part of it. As I have said before, I have never met a woman who is pro-abortion; only pro-choice. I am pro-choice; it is not my job to choose what any other woman wants to do with an unwanted pregnancy, especially if by rape or any other act against the woman.

The country is looking pretty good again.

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Crime, Equality, Medicine, personal thoughts, Politics, Religious, States Rights, Voting Rights, Women's Rights. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

