Turning Back the Years


Well, I am seriously depressed today. The Supreme Court has cut the heart out of the Voting Rights Act from 1967. This is just about the last straw for me.

I have had to deal with those ugly white men who are turning back the clock on women’s rights – the right to choose, the right for equal pay, the right for equality and taking care of their own needs, particularly when it comes to their own bodies. We are having to refight the fights we fought for four decades ago.

If that is not enough, now we who fought for voting equality are told by the Supreme Court that we live in a different time, and they are allowing the states to try and take back the right to vote for blacks and Hispanics.

Do I want to live in the 50s again? Do I want to have to go back to the 60s and fight all those battles again? Haven’t I lost enough with the loss of all those young people in battle? Do I want to see liberty buses rolling again, targets for haters who enjoyed burning people alive in those buses, or in bombed-out churches? Do I want to see young men and women beaten by body clubs by white policemen who want to serve their white police captains?

Why do I, a 72yo white woman who believes in real equality, have to go through this again? Well, I can’t. I physically am not able to go through it all again. And the majority of folks who live in this complex I live in, the blacks, don’t seem to care. Maybe it is because so many of them lived through the stifling of those years. Maybe they don’t want to have to fight again. Well, they are old, but I wonder how they feel about their grandchildren having to go through it all again.

We are a collection here of memories of how it was, and how it got better, and now how it appears to be going bad again.

I assure you, I will not be celebrating Independence Day this year. I cannot find a reason to celebrate the freedoms that only whites think belong to them. Bah humbug.

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Crime, Economics, Equality, personal thoughts, Politics, States Rights, Voting Rights, Women's Rights. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

