I’ve touched a nerve


Well, after I wrote my big blog yesterday, I got 242 readings on it alone (and several of my other blogs were read as well).  Out of all those readings, I got exactly eight comments against what I wrote, only three of which were worth accepting, and replying to. 

Most of them were people who gave me nothing except telling me I was wrong.  But I saw no proof, or even references to what I said was wrong.  I got the usual arguments about social security, Medicare, and Medicaid, and how they are failing, but no-one gave me a reason for why they believe what they do.  I was also accused of being racist myself by every one of them.

So they have all been pretty much saying I am wrong, that my reasoning about women is wrong, that I am certainly making God mad.  Okay, I don’t know who these people are who believe God is mad at me, but I am sorry they believe in such a terrible God.  I know my God/dess would never be unkind or cruel to any human being, or other creature, that s/he created.  Besides my God/dess and I speak to one another every day, and I thing s/he would let me know if s/he was not happy with me. I’ve got too good a life, even in my poverty and failing knees, and am so totally happy in my own personal life, that if God/dess were mad at me, I would probably see it in my Karma.

I’m also pretty sure the Jesus they believe in is not exactly thrilled with what they are saying and doing in his name.

All I feel for these poor creatures is pity. 

Today Darrell Issa has been caught red-handed being on a witch-hunt over Barack Obama.  I certainly understand how Obama can publicly laugh, or ignore, these folks because he is being proved right over and over, which only leads to the tea-partiers looking for another false accusation.

So whether you like what I say or not, I pretty much do know what I’m talking about.

Think about it.

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Equality, Medicine, personal thoughts, Politics, Religious, Women's Rights. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’ve touched a nerve

  1. Thank you Carol, for your thoughtful blog today. I am sharing this across media platforms. It is important to stand up to people who would re-write history and bully nonbelievers and/or those of differing faiths than the Far Right Christian religion. There are many good folks on the Christian Left who look at these people and think to themselves, “Well, they certainly are not a good reflection of Christian values.” Darrell Issa (R) is an example of a classic liar and I am ashamed he is a Representative from my state.

  2. Rachel says:

    People like you give me hope for Texas. Seriously.

    “So they have all been pretty much saying I am wrong, that my reasoning about women is wrong, that I am certainly making God mad. Okay, I don’t know who these people are who believe God is mad at me, but I am sorry they believe in such a terrible God. I know my God/dess would never be unkind or cruel to any human being, or other creature, that s/he created. Besides my God/dess and I speak to one another every day, and I thing s/he would let me know if s/he was not happy with me. I’ve got too good a life, even in my poverty and failing knees, and am so totally happy in my own personal life, that if God/dess were mad at me, I would probably see it in my Karma.

    I’m also pretty sure the Jesus they believe in is not exactly thrilled with what they are saying and doing in his name.”

    Couldn’t have put it better myself.

    Best wishes.

    • carolstepp says:

      Thank you Rachel. There are a lot of us in Texas who are really tired of being seen as the clowns of the United States, and there are a lot of us working on doing something about it. It won’t be easy, but we are coming out in numbers, all over the country. Carol

Leave a Reply

