Racism, or why I love Obama and most Democrats


Lately I seem to have picked up one of those white men I have talked about before on my Facebook page. He is certainly delivering to me all of the talking points that The New York Times and Fox News put out day by day. I should probably dump him, but his long writings are so absurd that I read them for the comedy of them. One of his friends did call me a racist, and I dumped her because the one thing I will not tolerate is for anyone to call me a racist. I am not, have never been, and don’t plan to ever be.

This man has also seen fit to reply to one of my posts here with not only one, but four blogs of his own. I trashed them. My blog space is my soapbox, not his.

The reason for this blog is that he kept wanting to know why I dis most tea-party type Republicans these days, the ones that keep saying no to Obama, who are so stuck on not liking a black man as President that they will do anything to keep him from getting anything done, no matter if it will help the country or not. I seem to see a lot of things going on that tell me they don’t exactly want to get rid of one thing or another, but they don’t want him to have credit for it. They are hoping these issues will hang around until they have mastery of the Presidency and Congress and then pass them under their own names. I say that won’t happen.

But what really brought this blog to me was this same man. I found myself thinking that there is not racism just for blacks in this country, but also for Mexicans. Let us think about this for a minute. Where are the fences? Nowhere but between Texas, New Mexico, Arizona, and California. Have you heard of any fences at the Canadian border? So who are these fences actually meant to keep out? The Mexicans. Having lived most of my life in Texas, I have had many friends of Mexican descent. I speak a little Tex-Mex. I have worked with them. And I think they are also being unfairly targeted as illegal immigrants. Maybe they make up the majority of those who are here without going through a very tough system, only to be turned down, but I don’t see a lot of Europeans begging to get into the United States. As for Asians and Arabians, I see them mostly wanting to come here to go to school, then because they are being talked about as evil people, go back and use their own education to fight against us. That, of course, is also misleading, and a quote from many voices I hear. I don’t think that applies to most of them – many of them I am sure use their American education to help their fellow citizens. And some do stay.

Anyway, back to the reason for this blog. I was asked why I disliked so many tea partiers, and laid so much of that evil on the bulk of Republicans. And I sent him the following reply.

“I am sick of racism in this country. Perhaps my feelings towards anyone right of center has something to do with all the crap about shutting down social security, cutting down on Medicare and Medicaid, and cutting back food stamps has finally put me beyond a willingness to listen. Perhaps it is all the years I worked for wages that were less than what men made in the same job. Perhaps it is all the years I worked for women’s rights, only to see Republican governors, and other governors, shutting down all the things helpful to women. Perhaps I’m tired of people, mostly Republican men, who think they have a right to get into my vagina, or any other woman’s, who tell women they cannot even be in the meetings where they discuss these things. Perhaps it has something to do with saying there is a difference between rape and legitimate rape, and that women cannot get pregnant if it is a legitimate rape. No doubt it is all of those things, and I just have a problem with middle-aged white men who are trying to put women in a place they don’t belong. Yeah, I’m angry about all the things having to do with women, and with the poor and down-trodden and elderly, and the attitudes of white men who don’t want to pay their share of taxes. I don’t think you have any interest in those things that are important to me, and the references you keep sending me to go against Obama are from right-wing rags, like the New York Times, or Fox News. On top of that, I am reading posts from far too many people who go onto conservative websites and try to give facts, and get kicked out of the sites. That has happened several times today.”

Anyway, this man certainly spurred this blog, and I am giving you the same information. Think about it.

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Crime, Economics, Equality, Foreign Affairs, Homelessness, Medicine, personal thoughts, Politics, States Rights, Women's Rights. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Racism, or why I love Obama and most Democrats

  1. carolstepp says:

    The Torah is only the first five books of the Old Testament. Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy. They are called the Law.

    History: Joshua, Judges, Ruth, I and II Samuel, I and II Kings, I and II Chronicles, Ezra, Nehemiah, Esther (the book does not even have the word God in it).

    Songs: Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Solomon

    Major Prophets: Isaih, Jeremian, Lamentations, Ezekiel, Daniel

    Minor Prophets: Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micha, Nahum, Habbakuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, Malachi

Leave a Reply

