Men, I Love Them


I have just been hanging around in my social network of FaceBook, enjoying cat pictures, reading political postings from my several liberal groups and enjoying them, catching up with friends and so on. But right in the middle of all the cool stuff, I come up against yet one more posting about a military cadet taking photos of women in the military in their shower.

What gives, guys. I know some damn fine men who are perfect gentlemen, and would never push their sex urges on anyone, who would never intrude on a woman’s privacy in such ways, who would never attack a woman, or even make an indecent comment to her.

So why do so many of the higher-ups in the military do it? Really, I understand the male sex and his needs and wants. I came to grips with the fact that so many men think with the wrong head many years ago. I even used it to my advantage once, but that was more than 50 years ago. And I guarantee the men didn’t mind because it was in those sexist 60s, when women were beginning to come into their own, and demanding to have the same rights to sexual enjoyment that men have always thought belonged to them.

So why are so many of you trying to spoil this, for other men, for yourselves, for women like me. Do you think that because we want to do things men do, and want to have the same rights men do, and want to be paid the same amount you are for doing the same jobs, that we are fair game? You are just giving your sex a bad name, and it makes many women steer even further away from you.

I have often been frustrated watching women in shopping malls, back in the days when I did retail work, mistreating their male companions. I would see the men trailing behind them, carrying packages, waiting outside shops, watching her buy all kinds of things for herself, but if he mentioned something he would like, she would hurry him along (this actually happened at a place I worked where we sold polo shirts and tee shirts – he wanted one, she said no, but she had numerous packages for herself). I often wondered how many of those men were, and pardon my language, it is an old phrase from long ago, pussy-whipped. You can figure that out, can’t you? Do your women hold sex back from you because they are peeved with you? I am, on behalf of my gender, sorry, but I can’t do much about it, especially if you put up with it.

But that does not mean you should take it out on other women. You need to control yourselves. Keeping it in your pants is all well and good, but when you, especially a military person, and an officer, are caught taking illegal photographs, it is still a sign that you are taking things out on women.

I know it does not sit well with a lot of men that women everywhere have come into their own. I know women all over the world are still considered less than second class citizens. But really, we in America did come into our own way back in the late 50s and into the 60s, and we deserve the same respect you want for yourself. Behave yourselves.

Now just in case you think I don’t know it, I do know there are men who are abused by their wives or their woman or maybe even their daughter. I feel the same sorrow for you that I feel for abused women. I don’t claim a higher ground for myself over sexual matters. But there are not nearly as many women doing things like taking clandestine photos of men in a state of undress. Nor do we in the same numbers sexually attack men. We were given better control over our urges, I guess.

This is a blog that does pass over things like prostitution, s&m, and choices women make in their lives for a buck. This is because I think the percentage of that kind of women is very low in comparison to women who just want a little respect. The percentage of men, though, who will do just about anything to get women, compared to those who are respectful, is much higher.

This blog is just a result of my reading one more report about a military man treating military women with little respect – this is the third time it has made news in the last what, three weeks? You need to take control of yourselves, guys, really.

Behave yourselves.

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Crime, Equality, personal thoughts, Women's Rights. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Men, I Love Them

  1. Bill says:

    I do love women and when I was younger the sexual drive within was a very powerful force. However now that I am 64 have had prostate cancer and am enjoying the little things, I do understand. I understand the sexual drive, the need to get relief and the constant urges. I understand how just talking with a girl can get the heart racing. How the peer pressure can induce a need to show off. The feeling of never being able to feel comfortable in your own skin. So welcome to the average day of a young man… you are not alone.
    With that being said I am here to tell you objectifying women is a waste of time. Thinking this man/women thing is a competition that men need to win is bull. I have been with some beautiful people in my life who just happen to be women.Realizing women are just people who are perhaps a little more emotionally complicated then men but have similar needs. Makes you more attractive.
    When you get a chance to look back you will count the close relationships the children and perhaps grandchildren among your lifes accomplishments.
    BTW getting older is not so bad it gives you an edge you never had before but thats a discussion for another time.

    Always learning
    Bill

Leave a Reply

