Les Miserables Movie from 1953


Well, tonight I was watching a series of movies in celebration of the actress Debra Paget, and one of them turned out to be a movie of Les Miserables from 1953, starring Michael Rennie as Jean Valjean and Debra Paget as Cosette. It was it in black and white, and not a musical. If I weren’t already aware of the music from the plays, and the newest movie, I would probably have liked it much better than I did. I’ll just say it was an excellent production for 1953, and
producers, who I don’t know who they are, did a pretty decent job with converting it from the book, considering the constraints movie makers were in way back in the day.

So, if you haven’t seen it, and care about just the story itself, catch it if you can, on TCM. There was a role of Fantine, and one of Marius, and Javert was in it as well. But it lost a lot for me because I love the music, and I like the actors, and there were no Thenardiers or Eponine or ABC students in it.

I am glad I’ve seen it, though it is not something I will seek out again.

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Other media and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

