My Karma is Good


Last Wednesday I went to Best Buy looking for a computer.  I went in and told the folks there I had $300 to spend and that all I ever really use is the Internet.  For mail, banking, blogs, and my social life, Facebook.  One of the reps was about to take me to a computer to look at when another walked out with a box and said it was a computer that had been returned, but it had been checked and was up to factory specs, but since the seal had been broken, they could not sell it for regular price.  He said I could have it for $247+. 

My friend Joyce was with me, and I looked at the box and said “My God, Joyce, it’s a Dell”.  She looked at it and pointed out it also had Windows 8 on it. I said I would take it, and then I asked about virus protection.  I was told  that I could buy the $100 package which would give me virus protection and Geek Squad tech support for a year.  I had my debit card in my hand, and I said I couldn’t afford that – I had exactly $345 on it, and I would have to pay tax.  The rep said he would go talk to his manager, and when he came back he said his boss approved.

So I walked out of the Best Buy the owner of a Dell laptop with Windows 8. I picked it up on Thursday because they needed three hours to put the software on it for both packages, and Joyce had to go elsewhere. It worked beautifully in the store; when I got it home, after a couple of bobbles, I finally got it up and running (we have WiFi at the complex, so sometimes the signal flutters. Anyway, I am writing on it as I sit on my couch, and am very happy with it.

I tell you, between the free tooth extraction, and then this deal on the laptop, I have been very lucky.

I thanked the manager, and the agent, profusely, came home, did a like on Best Buy on FB, and then praised both Scott and Glenn in a message, along with the store they work in.

I guess having a sunny disposition, being old, and walking with the aid of a rollator (a rolling walker) cause some people to want to be nice to me.

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Economics, Finance, personal thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

