Just checking in


I tried to write a blog a couple of days ago, and it disappeared when I got to the end. So I didn’t try again immediately. I have been sort of busy, even for a retired person.

Anyway, this past Friday, I got my copy of Les Mis the Movie, which came out pretty quickly after the Oscars, as did all the Oscar nominees. I was going to go to a dentist on Saturday who was going free dental work all day Saturday for folks in Austin, and my friend and I got there about 6:30, and there was already a line. I stayed up all night on Friday because I tend to be a later sleeper anyway, and I didn’t want to try to get just a couple of hours and then be up all day. So I spent Friday night watching first the movie version of Les Mis, then I watched my DVD of Mama Mia, then I spent the next three hours watching my DVD version of Les Mis the 10th Anniversary. And got through the night.

I got my jaw tooth pulled, and to say thank you, I will be going to the same dentist in April to have another tooth pulled. I am glad I got this tooth out because it had been slowing poisoning my body since 2003, since I last had insurance.

But you aren’t really interested in my medical events, though I think a lot of you are interested in Les Miserables in its many versions.

Here is a list of Les Miserables Awards over the years since 1985.

It won eight Tonys – Best Musical, Best Book for Alain Boublil and Claude Michele Schoenberg, Best Score, Best Director for Trevor Nunn and John Caird, Best Featured Actress Frances Ruffelle, Best Supporting Actor, Michael Maguire, Best Set Design, and Best Lighting Design. This is believe is from the first year it was on Broadway. I don’t have any figures from London.

New York Drama Critics Award – Best Musical

Five Drama Desk – Musical, Michael Maguire, Orchestration, Music for Claude Michele, and Set Designer.

Australian Music Critis Aware 1987, Best Musical, Best Actor Philip Quast.

And then this year it won Best Supporting Actor Golden Globe Anne Hathaway, Screen Actors’ Guild, Anne Hathaway, and Oscar Anne Hathaway.

I think it could have won more had it not been up against Lincoln and Argo.

Well, this is just to let you know I am still alive.

One note for those fans of Celtic Thunder who were my first readers. I have seen the PBS version of Mythology, and while there are perhaps three or four songs I like (including Keith), and still love Emmet’s voice, I did not find this show worthy of a whole blog, and I am not likely to buy the newest CT DVD. I do, however, expect to buy Keith’s self-titled new CD which we saw on QVC’s St. Patrick’s Day show.

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Music, Other media, personal thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

