A few comments regarding the following Les Mis Review


Last night I watched the Oscars. I was hoping, although I knew it would be fruitless, for Les Miserables to win Best Picture. However, with all the political movies in the running, I honestly knew it probably would not.

I will probably not see Argo. It is because I lived through all that back in 1979-1981, when the hostages were taken in Iran. I think I will see The Life of Pi because it won more awards than I expected, and I like Mychael Danna’s music.

About Les Mis – I am glad they were given a spotlight on the music. It was the best way I could have figured out for everyone who has not seen the movie to understand the music. And when Anne Hathaway won the Best Supporting Actress award, I was not surprised. She had already won SAG and Golden Globe awards for her performance.

Most outstanding to me about her acceptance speech was when she said “sometime soon in the near future, she hoped that the things that happened to Fantine would soon be fictional, and no longer true”. I second that emotion.

Following is a personal reflection of Christian R. Gonzalez, a member of the Austin Diocese, and a contributor to the official newspaper of that organization, Catholic Spirit. The newspaper was given to me by my good friend Joyce, to read the article, and I wrote to ask him permission to allow me to post it to my blog. He gave me permission, which you will see at the bottom of the article, and sent it to me in email form, which I copied straight from my email to my blog.

Not one word has been changed. I have many readers who come back and re-read my blogs about Les Mis daily. My blogs are free to the public. I think in the case of this one, if you want to copy it, you should probably contact Christian to let him know where you are posting it. It can be a ticklish business to copy something without changing a single word, and giving the credit where it is due.

I did not write the article. I claim no credit for the article. I thought it should be shared, though, and have done so within all rules and laws.

Carol Stepp
Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Music, Other media, personal thoughts, Religious and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

