Les Mis the Movie cast


I have not yet seen the movie version of Les Miserables. Mostly this is because with little money and no car, I haven’t made it yet. I really need to see it instead of waiting for it to come out on DVD, mostly because I think I have readers who read my blogs over and over about the 10th and 25th anniversary shows, and who probably want my opinion on the movie itself. Perhaps some who have seen the movie will let me know their opinions. Anyway, I looked up the cast, what was available on-line.

Jean Valjean – Hugh Jackman (I know he can sing)
Javert – Russell Crowe
Fantine – Anne Hathaway
Monsieur Thenardier – Sacha Baron Cohen
Madame Thenardier – Helena Bonham Carter
Thenardier – Geoffrey Rush (this really confuses me. In the plays, there was just one Mr. Thenardier, and I have no clue as to why there are two men listed as Thenardier)
Cosette – Amanda Seyfried (I loved her in Mamma Mia, and I know she has won a Tony for Broadway)
Marius – Eddie Redmayne
Eponine – Samantha Banks
Enjolras – Aaron Tviet
Grantaire – George Blogden
I know Grantaire was in the book, and I know his name was called in the two productions I have seen, so I think he must be the one played by Anthony Crevillo, who teases Marius about being in love in the 10th anniversary show.

There is no listing for Gavroche, nor for the young Cosette. And again, I have no idea why two different Thenardiers are listed.

I know Les Mis has been nominated for Oscars for the movie, Hugh Jackman, and Anne Hathaway, and for several more, though I have not looked it up.

Anyway who has seen the movie and read this, please give me your opinions, especially those who have read and re-read my blogs about the two stage productions I have talked about.

Thanks,

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Music, Other media and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

