My Christmas Day Pie


So this is a funny story, and I’m going to put it on Facebook, and send it to NPR, which likes funny Christmas stories. This is about my “pumpkin” pie.

I make the Impossible Pumpkin pie as written out in the Bisquick cookbook. It is an easy pie to make, and you don’t have to make crust and cook a lot of stuff before hand.

Anyway, on Christmas Eve, I was certain I had a can of pumpkin, so as is usual, did not put all my ingredients out beforehand, but just went along ingredient by ingredient.

I turned the oven on to 350 degrees. I sprayed my pie plate with cooking spray. I took out my blender. I put in 3/4 cups sugar; 1/2 cup Bisquick, a can of evaporated milk, two eggs, and went to the pantry to get the pumpkin. There was none there. I’m going crazy. Only a dollar in my pocket, and no pumpkin. So I set the blender cup in the fridge and started running around knocking on doors looking for a can of pumpkin. No one had any. I sent my neighbor who runs my errands to the store(s) to get me a can of pumpkin, after borrowing enough money to pay for one. She went to the Dollar Store and then CVS, and came back – no pumpkin left on the shelves. So I borrowed a can of apricot halves from a one neighbor and a can of peaches from another neighbor, and gave my friend the dollar.

I drained the apricots and added enough sliced peaches to make a full can. This I poured into the blender, then I adjusted the spices (instead of pumpkin pie spice, I put in nutmeg and cinnamon). I added the vanilla. I put it in the oven and cooked it.

When it came out, it looked like a custard pie, and I just hoped it would be good.

Yesterday, when I served the pie to my guests, I had told them the story so they would be warned that it might not taste very good. We sprayed the whip cream on it. We took a bite, and one of my friends declared that it tasted just like pumpkin pie. I was not sure I agreed quite that much, but, my friends, it was delicious. I sent them home with a couple of pieces of the pie, and ate another helping last night.

I have one slice left to eat tonight. It really is a good pie, and now I am going to experiment with other fruits, like cherry pie filling (don’t use the liquid – you just don’t want to add any more liquids to the recipe). But you can be sure I will always have pumpkin on my pantry shelves before I attempt to begin another pie without knowing I have all the ingredients.

The Bisquick recipe for pumpkin pie:

Throw into a blender

3/4 c sugar
1/2 c Bisquick
1 can of evaporated milk (not the sweetened, just the plain milk like Pet or your favourite store brand)
2 eggs
1 can (15oz) pumpkin
2-1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
2 tsp vanilla

Blend until totally liquid. Pour into greased pie plate. Bake for 50-55 minutes, until when you touch the top of the pie it is firm to the touch.

Cool, and serve with whipped cream.

Refrigerate leftovers.

Share this if you wish. My friend thinks it should go viral.

Happy Boxing Day.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

