College Football 2012 Bowls


Well, oh darn (or stronger words to that effect). Notre Dame lost. But at least Alabama couldn’t stop them from making any points, which is what they wanted – a blow-out. And Herbstreit, the announcer from ESPN, finally said some nice things about Notre Dame last night. Unfortunately, Manti Te’o won’t be around another year, but perhaps he will go to a good NFL team. I don’t actually know what his plans are.

Anyway, I ended up with a 21-14 record, or .600 percent. Not as good as last year, I don’t think, but still a positive ending for me.

Now I wait eight months for college football to start again. In the meantime, I’ll follow the Thunder in basketball, and in February, NASCAR starts again. So I still have my year-round sports choices.

December 15:
New Mexico Bowl
Arizona vs Nevada – Arizona – Yes, but I thought I was going to lose them one. Couldn’t believe Arizona came back in the last 90 seconds with two touchdowns to win.
Famous Idaho Potato Bowl
Utah State vs Toledo – Toledo – No

December 20:
Poinsettia Bowl
BYU vs San Diego State – BYU – yes

December 21:
Beef O’Brady’s Bowl
UCF vs Ball State – UCF – yes

December 22:
New Orleans Bowl
La-Lafayette vs East Carolina – La-Lafayette – yes
Las Vegas Bowl
Boise State vs Washington – Boise State – yes

December 24:
Hawaii Bowl
Fresno State vs SMU – SMU – yes

December 26:
Little Caesars Pizza Bowl
W. Kentucky vs Central Michigan – Central Michigan – yes

December 27:
Military Bowl
San Jose St. vs Bowling Green – San Jose State – yes
Belk Bowl
Cincinnati vs Duke – Cincinnati – yes
Holiday Bowl
Baylor vs UCLA – Baylor – yes

December 28:
Independence Bowl
Louisiana-Monroe vs Ohio – Louisiana Monroe – no
Russell Athletic Bowl
Virginia Tech vs Rutgers – Rutgers – no
Meineke Car Care of Texas Bowl
Texas Tech vs Minnesota – Texas Tech – yes

December 29:
Armed Forces Bowl
Rice vs Air Force – Rice – yes
Fight Hunger Bowl
Arizona State vs Navy – Arizona State – yes
Pinstripe Bowl
W. Virginia vs Syracuse – Syracuse – yes
Alamo Bowl
Oregon State vs Texas – Oregon State – no
Buffalo Wild Wings Bowl
TCU vs Michigan State – TCU – no

December 31:
Music City Bowl
Vanderbilt vs. NC State – Vandy – yes
Sun Bowl
Southern Cal vs Georgia Tech – Southern Cal – no
Liberty Bowl
Tulsa vs. Iowa State – Iowa State – no
Chick-fil-A Bowl
LSU vs Clemson – LSU – no

January 1:
Heart of Dallas Bowl
Oklahoma St. vs Purdue – Oklahoma State – yes
Gator Bowl
Mississippi St. vs Northwestern – Northwestern – yes
Outback Bowl
South Carolina vs Michigan – South Carolina (this was a tough one) – yes
Capital One Bowl
Georgia vs Nebraska – Georgia – yes
Rose Bowl
Stanford vs Wisconsin – Wisconsin – no
Orange Bowl
Florida State vs N. Illinois – N. Illinois – no

January 2:
Sugar Bowl
Florida vs Louisville – Florida – no

January 3:
Fiesta Bowl
Oregon vs Kansas State – Kansas State – no

January 4:
Cotton Bowl
Texas A&M vs Oklahoma – Texas A&M – yes
(when did the Cotton Bowl get left out of being a BCS Bowl – it’s one of the oldest ones around)

January 5:
Compass Bowl
Mississippi vs Pittsburgh – Pittsburgh – no

January 6:
GoDaddy.com Bowl
Kent State vs Arkansas State – Arkansas St. – yes (but secretly, I would have liked to see Kent State win this one)

January 7:
BCS National Championship
Alabam vs Notre Dame – Notre Dame – no
(I am and forever will be a Notre Dame fan first – not because I’m Catholic, but because I’m Irish, plus my high school fight song uses ND’s tune, though not the same words)

And that is it for this year. I’ll come back on and off to mark them with a yes or no, and finish up with my results after January 7.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

