December 4, 2012


Last Tuesday, December 4, was my 72nd birthday.  It was a beautiful day, and I was blessed to reach 72.

I was in my 20s during the radical 60s, drinking and dancing as fast as I could, sleeping around, just generally throwing lots of wastage on my life.  I/we did not believe we would make it to 30.  And 1970 was a horrible year to turn 30 in – never trust anyone over 30.  The movie Logan’s Run was popular, and Vietnam was on our minds.

Once I turned 30, I decided it was time to settle down, though it took me until 33 to actually accomplish that.  Then I moved to Austin, and settled into standard, or more “approved” work.  When I reached 40, I started having panic attacks.  In my 50s, I contemplated suicide for the first time.  I had a wonderful psychotherapist when friends intervened.  I did well for awhile, and once again, in my early 60s, contemplated suicide for a second time.  But my cat, and my best friend, kept me from doing it.

Finally, around the age of 68, life smoothed out for me, I became happy, and have been happy ever since.  And reached this magical age of 72 (it is a magical age for me because I was born in the year of the Dragon, and this is my 6th dragon.  My next one, should I live so long, will be the year I turn 84.

Why do I tell you this?  Because if there is anyone who is reading this who is going through some depression and mental problems caused by life itself, take me as a good example of someone who managed to live and learn and stay alive, and who now, even though I thought it could never happen, am really enjoying living and glad to have reached this milestone in my life.

Tomorrow I’ll be back with my college football choice results, and my list of chosen winners of the 35 Bowl games.

Ta for now.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in personal thoughts, Sports and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

