The Irish Get Up and Go Diary


Through a Facebook friend of mine, I recently became acquainted with a wonderful website which features a beautiful little book that I believe would be a great gift for your Irish friends, your friends who would like to be Irish, or just anyone who loves the Irish, great wit, wonderful words from great thinkers and writers, or just some good common sense.  I also picked up another FB friend from another member of this company.

For the sake of full disclosure, I was sent a complimentary copy of the diary.  I will get no further compensation, nor do I want any.  I simply want to spread the word about this beautiful book, and enjoy my own copy of it.

The web site is http://www.getupandgodiary.com

and below, I have copied of photo of the 2013 diary for you.  The website has several other items for sale, including all of the diaries back to 2007, which might be of interest just to get all the things that are inside other than the dates.  But start with the 2013 one.  You can also find one for young people, and one which is called The British Get Up and Go Diary.

  •     €10.00

    The Irish Get Up and Go 2013 Diary

    You will note the price of 10 Euros.  This works out to American $12.77, postage for one diary is American 3.80; if you order more than one, each extra book will cost an additional American $1.27 in postage.

    The folks at the company recommend payment through Paypal.  I asked about credit cards, debit cards, or American checks (cheques), and was told the best way was simply through Paypal.  They charge by the Euro, which Paypal converts to the American monetary system, and takes it out of your bank account.

    The diary opens with An Irish Blessing.  There is a list of major holidays for the Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland, England, Scotland, and Wales, the US, and Canada.  There is a full calendar for 2013.

    Then you get each month, with a box to set a goal for the month, and then one for each day of each month.  There is plenty of room for writing down appointments and activities.  There is a wonderful “saying” for each day.  Each page has several sayings just scattered throughout, such as, for January 1, “This bright new year is given me to live each day with zest, to daily grow and try to be, My highest and my best” – William Arthur Ward.

    There is an occasional “wish” or “saying” in English, then translated to the Gaelic.  There is a special page for St. Patrick’s Day.  There is an occasional page with a short story, a wish, a blessing. a guideline, a creed.  Among the people quoted throughout the book, you will find Martin Luther King Jr., John F. Kennedy, Yoda, Charles Dickens, Oscar Wilde, Mother Theresa, Benjamin Franklin, and many, many others.  Among comments you will read the sayings:  “the truth is the truth even if no one believes it; a lie is a lie even if everyone believes it”; “losers quit when they’re tired, winners quit when they’ve won”; “an apology is the super glue of life, it can repair just about anything”; “rock bottom became the solid foundation on which I rebuilt my life”, and more and more and more.

    The saying on my own birthday next year is “stand firm for what is right”, which I very much appreciate because it is what I try to do every single day of my life.

    The pages are colourful, with different colours and patterns for the four seasons, and there are sweet little pictures throughout, many of them true photographs, the rest clever drawings fitting to the words they accompany.

    Oh, I could go on and on, but then I would be in danger of telling you the whole book, and that I don’t want to do.  I simply say if you buy this for a special someone as a Christmas gift, or birthday gift or just because, that person is going to think about you with love and gratitude for the whole year of 2013.  While you are at it, suggest it to someone as a gift for yourself, or just buy one for yourself.

    Thanks to Brendan and Eileen, my FB friends, and to Glenda Devlin, who originated and designed this loveliest of diaries.  I treasure mine, and will use it daily.

    Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Other media, personal thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

