Texas Secession


I am a born Texan – born in 1940 in Corpus Christi, Nueces County, Texas.  I have always been glad to be a Texan, but at the moment, I am both embarrassed and ashamed for my state.

I live in Austin, Travis County, Texas, which is a solid blue county.  I know that if Texas were to secede, Travis County, Harris County, Dallas County, Bexar County, Beaumont (or Orange) County, El Paso County, and the Rio Grande Valley would all want to secede from Texas.

Please folks, don’t let all the signatures on the Secession Petition make you think badly of all Texans, though I can see in the tweets to MSNBC that there are a lot of folks who would be glad to see Texas gone.  Texas has not had the greatest reputation around the country and the world because too many of them are arrogant and think they are God’s gift to the universe.

Just remember that not all of us feel the same way, and try not to hate all of us.  Some of us are pretty good people.

I just wrote what I hope will be a guest column to the Austin American-Statesman yesterday that touches on this very horrible thing that is going on.  If it prints, I will share the site with you.  At some point, it will be copied into my blog, but I need to see if it gets into print first.

Thank you.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Other media, personal thoughts, Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Texas Secession

  1. Georgia says:

    So in other words Carol what you are saying is that those of us who don’t have the same “liberal” views as Obama and others such as yourself are “not good people”. You have your head in the sand if you think the stuff Obama has done to and for our country is good. I love my country but it is being DRIVEN INTO THE GROUND by senseless spending and the plans of this dictator. It has NOTHING to do with his color- it is all to do with what he has done since he has been in office. This man hates free enterprise, and the American way. As far as I’m concern you just be “embarrassed” at us fellow Texans requesting succession. Perhaps you should go ahead and plan your move back to wherever you came from, where you might fit in better.

    • carolstepp says:

      Your comment to my post does not address one single thing I wrote in the blog. It is just a lot of your hate and venom spewing forth on me. I doubt you read the complete article just because of what you wrote. You would do good to go look at recovery.gov to see just exactly how many companies, private enterprise, have been started under President Obama. Of course, I don’t expect you to do so because you don’t want the real facts – you just want to spew your hatred and prejudices. Also, if you had read my whole column, you would have seen that I was born in Corpus Christi, Texas, and have lived in Texas most of my life, though I am living in Austin, Travis County, and deep blue county. I am also glad to note that much as I do not admire Rick Perry, he at least has had the sense to say he appreciates being part of this great nation, and he does not want the state to secede, no matter what he said a year or two ago.

      Frankly, if Texas did secede, there are an awful lot of people who would be either moving out, or seceding from the state itself. I personally like my social security, my Medicare, and the Interstate highways I drive on. Should Texas succeed in seceding, which I am sure it won’t do, I’ll be among those who will be out taking back our national highways – the taking up for those highways will provide jobs, and materials, that can be used to improve the infrastruction in those states that believe in the Union of the United States of America.

      You do know Democrats are happier than Republicans. You sound quite unhappy, and I am very happy. Even at the age of 72, in poverty, but enjoying my life, and my country’s decisions. I look forward to the wealthiest among us having to finally pay their fair way. It won’t help me, but it will sure help my grandchildren.

      Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

  2. carolstepp says:

    I do not believe President Obama would do any such thing. For one thing, the states that really are the loudest about seceding are the very states that seceded during the Civil War, and although it took them five years for all of them to get readmitted to the Union (Texas and North Carolina being the last in 1870), they all had to ratify either the Civil Rights Bill of 1865, the 1th Amendment, or the 15th Amendment. As well, they were all told as one of the requirements to get back in was to not secede again. Unfortunately, those idiots who are signing these petitions today don’t care about history, and are just acting out because they don’t like President Obama, although they are quick to assure me it isn’s racism. HA!!!
    Anyway, I have just learned that there is a petition on-line somewhere where Austin, TX and Travis County TX are signing to secede from Texas if Texas gets out. I am also seeing a lot of people on television saying let Texas secede – we are not a popular people across this nation, and around the world. Can’t say that I blame them, though I hate to be counted in that crowd because I am one of the most tolerant people you will ever meet.
    Thanks for your input – very illuminating, and I hope many people read your comments.
    Rick Perry won’t allow Texas to secede – no matter how much he gripes about federal money, he’ll take it when he chooses to take it.
    Carol

Leave a Reply

