College Football 2012


I have been so involved in politics this presidential year that I have not written many blogs about either music, or the other subjects I am interested in.  With the vote just eight days away, and having already cast my own vote (the 22nd), I am going to pick up on some of the things I’ve not talked about this year.

I have watched college football every Saturday since the season began, as in past years, exclusively on Saturdays from the first game to the last (that I can get on my own TV- the only sports channels I get are ESPN, ESPN2, and Fox Sports Channel).  So I’ve seen most games.  Starting this week, I will be also watching the games during the weeknights rather than the news shows.

Anyway, as I have done for several years in a row, I have pitted my own choices against the seven local newspaper sportswriters.  I have two rules:  never go against Notre Dame, and hardly ever choose UTexas (though I did this past weekend and came close to losing that one).  At this point, my choices have resulted in a score of 91/44, for a .674 percentage.  I am lower than any of them, so they are doing better than I am.

Notre Dame has been my fave college football team for years and years – all the way back to Daryl Lamonica (quarterback), and Ara Parseghian (coach).  I am not Catholic, but I am Irish, and my high school fight song (where I played in the band, and marched at half-time in many a game) is the same tune as ND’s (of course, they had it first).

Then, my high school colours were purple and gold, and I have pretty much learned to go with the colleges that use either both colours, or at least purple.  And everytime I go against LSU, I generally lose.  So while I chose for them in all but one game this year, I lost the one I didn’t go for.

Other teams:  The Oregon Ducks are still one of the best teams there are.  I think they deserve number one, but the SEC will get that every time, Alabama is the money team, and has been for years.  I also think the Kansas State Wildcats belong up among the top five.  I guess my own poll would go something like Oregon, Notre Dame (this year), Kansas State, all unbeaten teams, along with Alabama, and then follow up with Rutgers, Oklahoma State, Florida, Michigan State, Iowa State, all of whom have lost at least one game.  I think there is a fifth unbeaten team, but for the life of me, I cannot think what it is right now.

I was among those who got all excited about West Virginia this year, but boy, did they fall off.  My fave for the Heisman so far is Collin Klein, but I’m not so tied into him that I have deleted anyone else.

Anyway, that is it for today.  I’m sure I’ll be back with more comments as the season rolls along.  Only about five or six more weeks until I’ll be choosing my Bowl games winners.  In the meantime, happy college football season, ya’ll.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to College Football 2012

  1. David says:

    I have read some just right stuff here. Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how a lot attempt you put to make this sort of fantastic informative site.

    • carolstepp says:

      Thank you. I don’t actually put a lot of thought into most of what I write. It just seems to come naturally to me. For that I am grateful. I do try to not write anything I don’t know much about, but I’ve lived a long and active life, and I just write about things that interest me.

Leave a Reply

