The Recovery Act


I just finished a book titled The New New Deal, written by Michael Grunwald.  He just finished it in March of this year, so it is quite new.  I borrowed it from the library, had to be on a waiting list, read it in four days (460 pages), and got it back today for the next person in line.

I wish every single person who wonders about the Recovery Act (Stimulus of 2009) would have a chance to read it before the elections.  But it is expensive, and a lot of us can only go to the library.  It is a good enough book that after a period of time, I hope to find it at the half-price book store so I can add it to my personal library.

Well, the book is a narrative about how the stimulus/Recovery Act really has been working, and how much we need Obama to continue for another four years so as to get a little more done on what he has started.  If someone wants to bring up Solyndra with me, I will refer them to:  Serious Materials, Cree, First Solar, SunPower, Suniva, BrightSource, Sunrun, Solar City, Solazyme – all companies stared by stimulus funds.  And these are just some of the solar energy firms.  Other companies, working on better batteries, electrical energy, health IT, wind farms, etc., include names like EnviaSystems, FloDesign, 1366 Technologies, 24M, Jaguar supercomputer, Beetit, Beest, Polyplus, AGILE, Electrofuels, OPX, A123, Shepherd’s Flat, Project AMP – there are more.  I suggest you search on

recovery.gov;  energy.gov

to get more information on these and the many more.  Not all of them will probably succeed; that is the nature of start-ups and business, but I’m willing to bet that Mitt Romney’s economic plan, which he has been very careful to not limn out for us, is to take over some of these Obama successes and try to make them his.  I am grateful that Michael Grunwald got his book out before the election, so if the worst happens (heaven forbid), we know the truth.  Old Romney is so prolific at lying, and there are way too many people who simply do not care enough to learn truths – they hear a sound bite and think “oh yeah, that’s the best choice”, when they really do not know what they are doing, or why.

I do hope some people who read my blogs, especially since I think a lot of the traffic here are the same people coming back more than once, are getting to check out the things I say here for their truth.  I do not believe in lying, nor do I believe in backing someone/anything politically or in life without having checked them out to see if what is said is true.  I have certainly been anti-Romney from the beginning, and I don’t regret anything I’ve said since.

I know Obama has a bad name among a few people; I think he is not perfect, but he is an intelligent man, and I think he has a good grasp on what is going on in the world, and I am amazed by his intelligence in science.  So many of the companies listed above use nanotechnology in their research and work, and I have been impressed by nanotechnology from the time I first heard much about it back in the early 80s.  There are so many other natural resources that are being researched that can take us away from our use of oil and coal and other finite resources.

My recommendation to anyone starting college, who has any sense of science and mathematics, that you major in something that will work for the jobs of tomorrow, and I don’t think everyone wanting to be a rich businessman is going to be the path to follow.  I think those who get wealth through Wall Street or banking are going to even count that much in the world of the future, though there will always be a necessity for heads of the companies that are rising, and for clerical/administration work, and marketing, but I think the future for big money is going to come from the world of research and chemistry and the search for clean energy, medical records on the grid, wind farms, and other similar businesses.

If I were not already retired from a lifetime of working, and was looking for college or technical training, that is the path I would take today for a better tomorrow.

Again, those sites are recovery.gov and energy.gov.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Economics, Medicine, Politics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

