Respect for the Office of the President


The major thing that I came away with from the Tuesday night debate is that Mitt Romney has no respect for the office of the President.  Or would you rather say he has no respect for President Obama, who is, after all, THE PRESIDENT, and COMMANDER IN CHIEF.  Well, I had no respect for George W. Bush, but I would never have treated him disrespectfully, because I still have respect for the office itself.

And I think Mitt is teaching the exact same disrespect to his sons.

Tagg Romney said in a radio interview that he wanted to run down the aisle and punch out Barack Obama, but didn’t because of the Secret Service??????

And Mitt Romney showed absolutely no respect for the President, interrupting him, telling him to shut up, and tried to take over the whole debate, ignoring rules and all.

Well, if I had the chance, I’d smack that smug smirk off Romney’s hypocritical mouth – remember the Church of Jesus Christ of the Latter Day Saints (the Mormon church) did not even recognize black people until 1975.  Every year I watch the Mormon Tabernacle Choir’s Christmas show because I love the music, and I count the black faces.  In a choir of 100 voices, I’ve seen three black faces, at the most, and generally it is no more than two, and one year, only one.

But if I ever get the chance to smack Romney, it will be after I cast my ballot for President Obama early next Monday morning, the 22nd.

You bible thumpers do know that Egyptians did not look like Yul Brynner or Anne Baxter.  Moses did not look like Charleton Heston.

Where did Cain find his wife?  Or Seth (unfortunately, Abel didn’t have a chance to have a wife – or did he?)?

Or do you think it was incest?

If you don’t know where the Tower of Babel was (the general area, outside of Babylon, from where it took its name), where God (of the bible) muddled the languages and scattered the peoples, you don’t understand that the original people created were small, dark people.

Palestinians were not, and have never been, tall, white, blond-haired, blue-eyed people.

Joshua and Caleb were small, dark men, as were Ruth (woman) and Boaz.  Moab, where Ruth came from, is in that same area that is now called Israel, Jordan, Iran, Iraq, Syria, Turkey, Sinai, etc.

And David did not look like Gregory Peck, nor Bathsheba like Susan Hayward, although she may have come closest of all of the Hollywood types chosen by directors and producers to play those parts.

So if your dislike of President Barack Obama is simply because he is a dark man (and chose his darker-skinned side, as I choose my own Irish over the English and German), then shame on you.  Double-shame on you.  Just remember, as I had to when GWB was holding the office, the office itself deserves your respect.

Also keep in mind that Mitt Romney isn’t interested in the job – he just wants the title, the prestige, the building to live in, the Oval Office, and Air Force One.  Grover Norquist and Karl Rove will be quite happy to run the country themselves.

Think about it.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Respect for the Office of the President

  1. My wife and i were fulfilled Chris could finish up his survey out of the ideas he came across in your weblog. It’s not at all simplistic to simply be giving away thoughts which often some other people have been selling. And we all understand we have the website owner to be grateful to because of that. The type of explanations you’ve made, the easy website navigation, the friendships your site assist to instill – it’s got many amazing, and it’s helping our son and the family understand this situation is enjoyable, which is exceedingly mandatory. Thank you for everything!

    • carolstepp says:

      My blog is public, and what I write is free to anyone to use. My one requirement is that when my words are used as written that credit be given to me. As well, if I ever find out something I’ve written has been changed, it should not carry my name. Nor should anything I write be credited to anyone else. Otherwise, fee free to quote me anytime you wish. Thank you for your response.

Leave a Reply

