Jobs Report


I find it amazing that the CEO of GE would accuse Chicago of changing job reports numbers because they went down to 7.8% unemployment.

It is so horrifying to me that there are so many wealthy nabobs and Republican evangelists and tea-party types who hate Obama so much they won’t, or don’t want to, believe that things are getting so much better for America, and Americans.

The good news is that the “just-say-no” government types are disappointed, and being proven wrong, and I know that there are many true-Republicans who are happy.

I will say this, at the moment a lot of retail businesses are hiring for the holidays, so we need to be sure Obama is re-elected to keep employers happy, and that people won’t be laid off in large numbers after the holidays are over.

My own shopping branch of Dollar Stores is remodeling and expanding to carry more stock, and is hiring to fill the place with clerks.  Once Obama is re-elected, and people start trusting manufacturing again, and schools are training people in new methods again, it will start looking even better.

One of the things Paul Ryan said last night was small businesses are saying they will lay off employees if the tax cuts don’t go through.  Of course, the tax cuts will go through for small businesses with Obama’s new budget, which the just-say-no representatives won’t pass.  I have not heard one single small-business owner say they plan to cut employees.  In fact, I have heard small business owners say that with ObamaCare, they are able to cover their employees with insurance – not something they were able to do through private insurance companies.

I have, however, seen several wealthy CEOs say they will lay off their employees and close down their businesses if the Obama administration is successful at charging the wealthy higher taxes.

Olive Garden, which I think is a nation-wide chain of restaurants (at least based on TV ads I have seen) is one of the largest employers in the food industry.  They have recently decided to put all of their employees on part-time status so they won’t have to provide insurance for their employees.  That is just wrong.

When Paul Ryan said in his closing remarks last night “you better watch out, they are coming after you”, all I could think of was Dick Cheney and Donald Rumsfeld and Karl Rove telling us that if we didn’t re-elect George W. Bush in 2004, there would definitely be more terrorist attacks on this country.  Sadly, a lot of people were scared, and re-elected them, and the debt got a lot worse, and a lot more men and women were killed in the two unpaid wars of that administration.  And the Romney/Ryan/Koch Brothers/Karl Rove/Grover Norquist/Sherman Adelson/etc. bunch are trying to scare you into going back to that BushCo-type administration.

Don’t let them do that to you.  I will also ask, are you better off now than you were four years ago?  I most certainly am.  And on Wednesday, I discovered that my social security is getting another 2% raise this coming year.  $19 is a lot of money to me.  I contend that under Romney/Ryan/etc., that raise would not be forth-coming.  Keep in mind what the Rev. Al says in one of his political ads – this election is not about Obama, it is about yo’ mama.

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Economics, Finance, Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jobs Report

  1. I was suggested this website by way of my cousin. I’m now not certain whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such particular approximately my problem. You are amazing! Thank you!

  2. Pingback: My Homepage

  3. Pingback: law

  4. silver price says:

    There are too many of the right things in place and it appears he will be re-elected. There was an expert on election results and the way the economy was, unemployment, dept of defense, and the nation’s overall situation. He said that 7 out of 12 things were in place and the same for all other presidents when they were elected. I wish I could remember the man’s name and the article, but it was on AOL news.

    • carolstepp says:

      Obama will be re-elected. I ignore most polls because I don’t think they are very selective. I know I have never been polled, and that is okay with me. My one regret with this year’s election is that Texas has been ignored by both parties. Having said that, it is not news that Texas will probably go red, with, again, several counties which always remain blue – Travis County (Austin), Harris County (Houston), Dallas County (Dallas), Bexar County (San Antonio), and pretty much all of the Rio Grande Valley. I have my own electoral map at Real Clear Politics, which can be found on my FaceBook page (Carol Stepp – it will take some looking since I post a lot), and it took me a long time to decide to give Texas to Romney. I’m still hoping I’ll be surprised, and Texas will at least go a little purple. But electoral-college wise, even if the popular vote is close, Obama won’t have any problem getting the electoral votes he needs – at the moment, I have him with 332, Romney with 181, and only Missouri and North Carolina still as swing states.

Leave a Reply

