First Debate 10/3/12


OK, for all of you who think the debates are a contest, I’ll say Romney “won”.  I prefer to think of them as not a contest, but a debate, with no winners or losers.  But here is my take.

You weren’t paying attention!  And I suspect Obama did.

1.  Count how many times Romney used the number 47.  Had Obama tried to bring up 47%, it could have sounded like he was dissing what Romney called 47 in his comments.

2.  Romney’s whole talking about what he wanted to turn over to the states?  Romney is talking up the un-United States that Republicans seem to want – a continent with 50 different countries a la Africa or South America – with each governor trying to be either benevolent, or a dictator – think Rick Perry of Texas who would be one of the dictators.

I think Chris Hayes had it right – Romney split from his base, and continued his lies, and Obama was stunned.  Obama should have rolled with the change in the Republican stratefy of “reasonableness”, and called him out on his supposed Massachusetts bipartisanship, and talked about his “say-no” Republican Congress.

Romney doesn’t want the job – he wants the title, the prestige, and the use of Air Force One, and will be happy to let Norquist run the country.

This will change with the next debate.  Obama will be ready.

This is the pledge.

Steve Kroft interviews the man many blame for holding up the deficit-reduction process because of an anti-tax pledge that he enforces.

The five digit video
Grover Norquist – We just need a President to sign this stuff
February 11, 2012 – Grover Norquist, in a speech to the American Conservative Union, laid out what conservatives are looking for in a president: “enough work…

Carol Stepp, Austin, TX

About carolstepp

Music is about the most important thing in my life, and I follow a large number of musicians, particularly Irish, Scots, Classical, Crossovers of any of these. I was writing a blog about Celtic Thunder regularly on MySpace, and now I have left them after a year, and will start writing my blogs here. I am 70, retired, living on Social Security, and have a lot of social network fans.
This entry was posted in Economics, Finance, Medicine, Politics, States Rights and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First Debate 10/3/12

  1. Karine says:

    Great blog! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am taking your feeds also.

    • carolstepp says:

      I appreciate this. I am about to get out of politics for awhile, at least until after the election. I’m a little brain-tired, and by now, I hope everyone has made up their minds. I voted for Obama early (last Monday, the 22nd). Now it is time to get back to music, and college football.

  2. stomach ache says:

    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective.

    A lot of times it’s very hard to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal. I must say you have done a fantastic job with this. Also, the blog loads super fast for me on Firefox. Superb Blog!

Leave a Reply

